We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be good and avoid sweets do not go here!”

Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier
Ranked #3 of 18 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: The story of Christophe Artisan Chocolatier-Patissier is, above all else, a story of love. A story that, at its core, is about one man's love for sharing his creations with others and his dedication to his French origins. Christophe Paume is the rarest of artisans, a third-generation French chocolatier, who grew up in his father's patisserie in Toulouse, France. Alongside his father, he learned to create exquisite French pastry, the highest quality chocolates, succulent gelato, and every type of bread imaginable. After attending the CFA de Muret, Christophe moved to Paris and worked at Entremet de France, refining his hand-painted, one-of-a-kind creations of dark,white, and milk chocolate ganache and chocolate truffles. For the next ten years, he continued to work in the family business and traveled to Montreal to work at Patisserie de Gascogne. He also achieved his Brevet de Maitrise, Master in Pastry. While it was his passion for fine chocolate that brought him to the United States, it was love that kept him here. In 2009, he married Carly, and they moved to Charleston SC and formed Christophe Artisan Chocolatier-Patissier.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to be good and avoid sweets do not go here!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Modern candy with great old style flavor and service. The aroma will break down any inhibitions you may have to eating chocolate. The colors and variety of truffles and treats will overwhelm yours biliary to choose what to eat! You will submit yourself to trying the treats here. This place rocks!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pkcapkleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    33
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Charleston...”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We loved this place. Neat little shopfront hides an array of oh-so-decadent goodies! I was that spoilt for choice I didn't know what to choose. We each had two cookies (macadamia nuts! white chocolate! ginger! delicious bits of all kinds) and dark coffee. Then there was nothing for it but to take some cookies back to the hotel for a late-night snack.

It may not be the cheapest place around, but it's not outrageously expensive, and perhaps you'd find others equally as good, but no two ways about it, it's a wonderful cafe. The people are friendly and pleasant... the courtyard is nice to linger in... and you'll definitely find some unique goodies in the cases.

From the almost-mandatory brownies to the whatta-surprise spice cookies and the uber-cool chocolates, you'll enjoy Christophe's French Chocolate Cafe.

Get off the beaten path and step into the side street - you will be glad you did!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is only getting 4 "stars" from me. The pastries my husband and I bought were good but not great. The pain au blueberry was good but nothing to write home about. The white macadamia nut cookie was probably the best thing we ate. The place is small and out of the way, but very nice and quaint inside. Next time I may try the breads, of course I may have to get there earlier for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Happened on it by accident”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I could have whiled away hours here drinking the French press coffee and sampling from the amazing variety of pastries and chocolates...but my husband glad another idea. So, I picked a couple of pastries and some macaroons and left. The macaroons were sooo good I could not get them out of my mind. Walked back my last morning to buy another stash planning to take some home or at least on the plane. They didn't last that long. A real treat...be sure to search it out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Holidays Sweet Treats! So Good!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thank you so so much Carly, your chocolate selection was Absolutely Amazing! Thank you very much too for your Macaroons recommendation from the Macaroon Boutique on John Street. All my guests were just Blown Away! Charleston is so lucky to have you both here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing