We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier
Ranked #3 of 18 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: The story of Christophe Artisan Chocolatier-Patissier is, above all else, a story of love. A story that, at its core, is about one man's love for sharing his creations with others and his dedication to his French origins. Christophe Paume is the rarest of artisans, a third-generation French chocolatier, who grew up in his father's patisserie in Toulouse, France. Alongside his father, he learned to create exquisite French pastry, the highest quality chocolates, succulent gelato, and every type of bread imaginable. After attending the CFA de Muret, Christophe moved to Paris and worked at Entremet de France, refining his hand-painted, one-of-a-kind creations of dark,white, and milk chocolate ganache and chocolate truffles. For the next ten years, he continued to work in the family business and traveled to Montreal to work at Patisserie de Gascogne. He also achieved his Brevet de Maitrise, Master in Pastry. While it was his passion for fine chocolate that brought him to the United States, it was love that kept him here. In 2009, he married Carly, and they moved to Charleston SC and formed Christophe Artisan Chocolatier-Patissier.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am addicted to the hollandaise cookies. The caramal pecan tart was excellent, just sweet enough, not sickieningly sweet like many pecan tarts or pies. I went all three days i was there for pastry and iced coffee. Its next tot the Renaissance hotel

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    32
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
481 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Mmmmmlicious Coffee and Croissants, but not until 8 AM”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We found this gem of a place located just off King Street where we had coffee and croissants each morning of our stay. The coffee is made freshly ground and on French press, so it is not as quick as some may like. But it was very hot and tasty. The croissants were as light as could be. I had the chocolate one day and it was good as any I have ever had. The next day I had almond which was just coated with them and still warm. They also have a variety of fine chocolates to take back home with you for later. Outdoor seating is provided in the back or you can sit inside and watch the traffic.
But they are not open til 8, so you may have to wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Superb pastries and cookies to take out and enjoy in your hotel!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

As regular visitors to France this is truly the real deal I can assure you. Don't overlook the more American style baked goods like the cookies. Prices reflect the quality. If you want a lighter option for breakfast get baked goods here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Christophe's Patissier is a fun and enjoyable experience on every level. The shop is small but feels cozy, and they offer outdoor as well as lounge seating. Though it doesn't really classify as a restaurant, in my mind, it is always a delightful dessert experience. Entering into the shop is like entering into a delicious french escape. The chocolates are not only elegant and breathtakingly artistically created, but from a purely culinary perspective, each one delivers a unique and layered experience to the palate.
The pastries, macaroons, and other desserts are equally stunning to the eye and tongue. It is my mission, as a local, to return regularly until I have carefully tasted each and every one of their offerings. If you appreciate finely crafted chocolates, pastries and desserts, you will not be disappointed with Christophe's selection or offerings. The worst aspect of my experience at this patissier is having to narrow down my choice to only one (or two...) selections!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christiec03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Little Chocolate Shop!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Awesome coffee, awesome chocolates, great pastries, and wonderful staff! The french press coffee is a wonderful complement to the wonderful little hand painted truffles and I had an awesome almond apple tart. I will most certainly be back at Christophe's soon! The value here is excellent and I can't wait to make my way through their whole menu of options. See you soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing