We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“incredible service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service at the hotel and rooftop bar. The waitresses were very attentive, and the views and breeze were fantastic. There is a revolving door at the front, and our daughter caught her arm in it by accident... Shea, the doorman, was incredibly sympathetic and more importantly, responsive by getting a bag of ice. We are very grateful that the hotel has such quality employees... it made our night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank m034842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am sorry to hear about your accident but very glad that Shea was able to assist you quickly. Shea, I am sure will appreciate your kind comments. I am also pleased that you were happy with the quality of service of the hotel and the Pavilion Bar. Thank you once again and we hope that you stay with us again in the near.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    184
    57
    30
    26
See reviews for
219
693
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

we golf every year in charleston. every night we go to the rooftop bar before dinner. it is awesome. the views are spectacular. the staff is incredible led by JR behind the bar. his charm is equal to his mixology talents. the food is also eclectic and delicious. we never miss an opportunity to go there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It’s great to hear from repeat guests that come to Charleston every year. We are pleased that you enjoy the Pavilion Bar and the food and cocktails. Thank you also for acknowledging JR which I am sure he will appreciate. We look forward to your next visit with us at the Pavilion Bar at the Market Pavilion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Roof Top Bar is one of the best places to enjoy a gorgeous sunset over the city of Charleston. We had a delicious supper and were fantastically well looked after by our charming server, Jessica Chiavacci. I must especially recommend the incredible ice cream cookie dessert, which is HUGE but utterly delicious. We waddled down from the roof top having had a fabulous evening. Thank you Jessica!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I were in Charleston this past weekend for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. The rooftop bar was our favorite stop as we visited many bars and restaurants. The view is obviously breathtaking but what really made our visit was the incredible service. Our server, Raquel, greeted us immediately and made us feel comfortable on a very busy Friday night. Being our first night in town, we had a lot of questions. She was very helpful and actually helped us plan our weekend! She went over the top to make sure our needs were met. Our cocktails were always perfectly made and were brought to us in a timely fashion. Will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Market Pavilion is the best hotel in Charleston. The local market is only steps from the hotel along with amazing restaurants, historic sites and the famous King Street with tons of shops. The best part of the hotel is the Pavilion Roof Top! The view is unbelievable and the bartender Junior Yniesta makes the most delicious cocktails. This is a must-see if ever you're in Charleston!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the Roof Top Bar. Excellent service from the staff. Excellent bar service from Jr. Beautiful view of Charleston from the roof. Doesn't matter if you go day or night. Felt very welcomed and accommodated. I would highly friends and family to gather to have a couple of drinks and relax.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babyblue9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Jr. and Dave provided amazing service to me as I was in town for business. They not only provided fine service, but they went above and beyond and talked to me about things to see and do. I will come back for their service alone. Also, Marc, the bartender downstairs, was on the same level of service and definitely helped my wife and I.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rok D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
392 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing