We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was great. The concierge was very helpful, setting us up with tours and making restaurant recommendations. The bartenders were just OK as was the rooftop bar. The concierge floor was great. Just being able to grab a water before heading out was worth the extra money. Stay on this floor. The room was comfortable. We were given a 50 dollar voucher for food and drink in the hotel and used it every night. That was really nice.

Negatives:
My daughter left her ipad in the car after they had parked it. When she asked them to retrieve it, they went to the wrong car. They called up to the room a few times and they finally found the right car.

Upon check in, the person at the front desk attempted to charge the wrong daily rate for our room. It took her a few minutes to find the correct reservation.

Aside from these two incidences, this hotel was perfect. I would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB62757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
As being a senior contributor to TripAdvisor, we very much appreciate you posting your comments. I first would like to thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you were able to use the $50.00 food & beverage voucher and found that the concierge was very helpful during your stay. I do apologize for the confusion regarding your vehicle and miss communication on our part. This has been corrected and addressed with the team. In addition, I did see any wrong daily rate on your portfolio but we do quote an average nightly rate based upon the number of nights staying with us. I am glad that you would return and recommend us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    196
    59
    32
    26
See reviews for
228
715
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Another beautiful stay in the heat of the summer! Cool breezes and great food and drink upstairs at the rooftop bar! Great service at all spots, room attendants, lobby bar, concierge lounge, Havin the face of the place at the front door! Mike and team at the valet post...all are attentive and prompt. The more I stay here the better I like it and wish to return!

We are relocating soon the Charleston but plan to still spend nights here for staycations after we move! A great team and great service to their repeat guests!

We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write your review and value you as our guest. Being a repeat, we understand the importance of maintaining the highest standards and being consistent. I also appreciate you acknowledging Mike and Havin. We look forward to your next visit with us and having you as part of the Charleston family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We were hoping to find a fun late night spot and our personal attendant made our night. I can't call him a waiter because he fulfilled our every need. Funny courteous personable good looking smart. Are only a few of the descriptors of this fine young man. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for joining us at the Pavilion Bar high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you found us and we were able to make your night. We very much appreciate you acknowledging Cory which I will pass along and I am sure he will appreciate. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

So much to love about the Market Pavilion. Central location, posh rooms, rooftop pool, calm in the heart of the busy downtown. We visited at the height of the summer season (stifling hot), and greatly appreciated returning to this sparkling and blessedly cool oasis every night. Yes, the decor and menu skews toward an older crowd (dark wood, marble, brass) but we loved all the comfort and service that goes with that.

And the staff was fantastic. Kim at concierge helped us with anniversary dinner arrangements (thanks, Kim, we loved S.N.O.B.), and Levi was charming and gracious during our short visit at the Pavilion pool. A special mention goes our kind and mannered bar tender/waiter Greg Ventura. He took care of us both in the restaurant (amazing dessert on our first night) and at the lobby bar (for our farewell cocktail) anticipating our needs and making us feel as if we had stayed at the hotel many times.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyCake17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, posh rooms and the Pavilion Bar and the Pavilion Pool. I will also share your kind comments with the entire staff and thank you for acknowledging Kim and Greg Ventura. I am sure they will be pleased and grateful. Thank you also for joining us at the Grill Bar and I am glad you enjoyed the dessert and your farewell cocktail. We very much appreciate you submitting your review and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the Market Pavilion. Nice, clean hotel. Stayed on the fourth floor. Enjoyed the extra perks of the floor and the helpful staff. Lucy was excellent and very attentive. We had Lucy up on our floor a few times during our visit. She was great every time and made all guests feel welcome. We also loved spending time on the rooftop, especially to watch 4th of July fireworks. We also ate downstairs at Grill 225. Greg was wonderful and always smiling. We enjoyed our meal! Will definitely come stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are so pleased that you stayed with us for 4 nights and enjoyed your stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I glad you enjoyed the concierge level of the hotel. Thank you for acknowledging Lucy and Greg your server from Grill 225. I will share you kind comments which I am sure they will appreciate. It’s great that you also had the opportunity to enjoy the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for sharing you kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Once again, the bartenders on the roof made our July 4th celebration one to remember. Thanks to Jr., Cheryl, Dave and a new young man, for their great service and professionalism. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yep-charleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for joining us at the Pavilion Bar high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel for the 4th of July celebration. I will surely pass your kind comments to Jr. Cheryl, Dave and Marc. I am sure they will appreciate the kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location perfect for downtown Charleston. The roof top pool was great they could use more lounge chairs though. The free coffee and pastries every morning was an extra bonus. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel could not be nicer. The roof top bar was awesome the drinks were alright the lobby bar drinks were much better. Looking forward to our next stay here.

Room Tip: We chose the luxury king
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemags69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location and the Pavilion. We are limited with space and cannot add any additional lounge chairs but do our best to accommodate our hotels guests. Also I am pleased you enjoyed the drinks at the Pavilion and Grill Bar. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you for sharing your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing