We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Service in Charleston!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“World Class Service in Charleston!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First, the hotel is decorated impeccably-- notice the ceilings and wood trim. However, the service level is second to none and is the hallmark of the experience. Our needs and requests were anticipated in many cases before we even expressed them. Akshaya, our server in the hospitality room on our floor made sure we enjoyed the food and beverage offerings and even charged my cellphone when he learned I had left my charger in the car. He is a wonderful ambassador for the entire hotel. The bell staff, concierge, and the front desk were all amazing. The housekeepers even turn off the vacuum if you walk by them vacuuming in the hallway! Another bonus of staying here is the location, in the heart of downtown Charleston. We walked to most of our destinations. Several great restaurants are nearby as is The Market and the King Street retail corridor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sightcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    196
    59
    32
    26
See reviews for
228
715
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful hotel and comfortable beds! Lots of pillows if you like to watch TV in bed. The robes are a luxurious amenity! The staff is very attentive and friendly. I would especially like to give a great big THANK YOU to housekeeping staff member Goula who searched and found my tea infuser that another staff had inadvertently taken from our room with the cups & saucers from breakfast. We were there during Restaurant Week and ate at Grill 225 - outstanding food and service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I live in the Charleston area and stay somewhere downtown Charleston every year for our anniversary. This was our first stay at the Market Pavilion and by far the best hotel we have visited in Charleston. I don't have a single complaint, the staff is great and the hotel is absolutely beautiful and extremely well kept. The hospitality hostess was genuinely interested in the guest and really went the extra mile to accommodate. She even knew people by name.The food and wine was also great. Be sure to purchase this upgrade. The room makes you want to live there. It is not only clean and beautiful, but the most comfortable bed I have ever experienced. The downstairs bar is great, be sure to try a Nitrotini it's wonderful! Don't forget the incredible rooftop bar and swimming pool with the best views in Charleston. Our stay was a perfect 10, I highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: I think they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was our 4th time staying here. Very helpful staff, from the minute we pulled up and were welcomed"home", to the folks facilitating breakfast , tea and wine on the concierge level.
Beds and pillows are comfortable and any request was immediately responded to.
Another plus is having a very good restaurant in house... Greg, the bartender was wonderful!
We were fortunate to meet and have a drink with Jim Palas, the owner of the property. He built it from the ground up and it was fascinating listening to his stories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZipNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I dined for Restaraunt week and was blow away by the quality of food and service. Our server, Lila, was on POINT with all aspects of the dinner. Very knowledgable and hospitable. My steak was perfect and the wine she suggested was amazing. Thank you for the experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChucktownEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our experience in Charleston was enhanced by the wonderful and gracious service provided by Akshaya. The hotel was very conveniently located by the market and within walking distance of all activities.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the concierge floor with full breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you liked our location and the service you received on our concierge level by your host Akshaya. Thank you also for sharing your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decided to celebrate New Year's Eve in downtown Charleston. Not wanting to drive that night, I booked us a room at this hotel. Our experience got off to a good start from arrival. Quick, efficient, friendly valet/bell services. Easy check-in with courteous, smiling people (you might be surprised how rare that can be). Our room was on the Concierge floor so the parlor was available to us for afternoon tea and for breakfast. The attendants there also did a lot towards making our all-to-short stay quite enjoyable. We went up to the roof-top lounge to relax after dinner. It was as expected boisterous and happy. We shared a table with some folks from GA who were quite pleased with the hotel too. I highly recommend giving it a try if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzCzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
As being a local from Charleston, we are very pleased that you decided to stay with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. It is also great that you had the opportunity to stay on our concierge level of the hotel and experience the many amenities which that offers. I am also happy that you were able to enjoy the festivities with some of other guests at the Pavilion Bar and who were pleased with their stay also. Thank you for the recommendation and please feel like this is your second home in Charleston. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing