We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite gem of a hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Beautifully appointed, located, managed. The staff were so kind, from helping us plan the next leg of our trip to finding out we could purchase their fabulous pillows. Loved the rooftop pool and bar. Look forward to staying there for years to come.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that our team was able to assist you with your next leg of your journey. I am also glad you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar the great views from high atop the hotel. We also are looking forward to your return for years to come. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    196
    59
    32
    26
See reviews for
228
715
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed four nights in November 2013. The hotel looks "old" as in classic but was built in 2002, so everything is pretty new actually. The rooms are modern, spacious and well equipped. Each morning, they leave coffee, tea, and an impressive continental breakfast near the elevator lobby, so factor that into the price, although there are some fun breakfast places to eat within easy walking distance. The location is excellent, at one end of Market Street --- Meeting Street and King Street are just a few minutes walk away. The Pavilion Bar on the roof is cool, very trendy, although it was chilly when we were there and the space heaters were struggling to keep up. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, helping us find some obscure shops in town. Greg, who tends bar in the lobby bar connected to the restaurant was great -- the second night he remembered me and my drink, and recommended a very good breakfast place in Mt. Pleasant for the next day. All in all a very pleasant place to stay, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor looking out at the Custom House
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePescos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us for four nights. We very much appreciate your kind comments and I will also share them with Greg from the Grill Bar. I am pleased that you enjoyed the many extra benefits we provide like complimentary continental breakfast and our location. It seems like you came when the weather was a bit cooler, but we do have the great Lave Lamps to help with keeping your warm on the Pavilion Bar. Thank you once again, and we look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Market Pavilion Hotel for a weekend getaway this summer and were so delighted that we did. Service was friendly and classy with each employee we dealt with making us feel like we were at home. The room was gorgeous and spotless and the rest of the hotel was beautifully maintained. The general manager, Mark, checked in with us personally to see that everything was going smoothly, and I saw him do that with each guest around us also enjoying cocktails on the awesome rooftop. Stay here and feel taken care of. I can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel for your weekend getaway. I am so pleased our staff made you feel like you were at home. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel the service which we deliver. I also appreciate your personal kind comments and want to make all our guest feel special. We look forward to your next visit to Charleston and the Market Pavilion. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at the Market Pavilion Hotel and it was memorable! We had a round of Nitrotini's at the lobby bar which was amazing then made our way to the rooftop bar just in time for sunset, what a magnificent view of the city and still managed to have a cozy ambiance. Our servers ( both nights ) were extremely attentive and friendly! I will definitely be back! Thank you

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel and allowing us to provide you with a “Wonderful Experience”. We are honored that we could make your visit memorable. It great that you were able to enjoy the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel and the Grill Bar. I will share your kind comments with the team and look forward to your return visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Pastries, fruit, tea and coffee on each floor for breakfast. The rooftop lounge is amazing, has a pool (not heated) and a great view. The food on the rooftop lounge was also very good. Hermes products in the bathroom of the hotel room. Excellent service. Great location. This really is a small leading hotel of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westvillagechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. As we are a proud member of The Leading Hotels of the World, we are happy that we could provide you with the best possible products and the finest service. I am pleased you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast each day and the magnificent views from the Pavilion Bar. When your travel plans bring you back to Charleston, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed at this property numerous times. It's a great location for us and the staff , rooms, and especially the concierge level is excellent. Akshaya took excellent care of us .We will be back.

Room Tip: We normally stay on the 4th floor - concierge level. Always a nice room. Clean, great shower, fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Market Pavilion Hotel. Thank you for sharing your kind comments which I will share with the entire team. I am also pleased you enjoyed the many benefits of staying on the concierge level of the hotel. We hope to see you back again soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed only for one night in August but it was a great expierence. Service was excellent and prompt. We pulled up out front and immediately the bellmen went to work, car was unloaded and luggage was inside on a luggage cart. Very well appointed room, and the bathroom was the icing on the cake. The coffee and pastries on each floor for breakfast in the morning was a really nice touch. Staff was on top of replenishing both items as needed. Was looking to try the Nitrogen Martinis but they only served them at the lobby bar, and we already established at the rooftop bar for the night. Finally the location can't be beat. It is just steps (literally from the marketplace) and, within close walking distance of many restaurants and attractions in the downtown area. Would definately stay again on a return trip to Charleston hopefully for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All of the standard and deluxe rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors only. All others are on the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel . I am so pleased that you felt it was a great experience and you enjoyed the excellent service. On your next visit to us you must try the Nitrotini at our Grill Bar. Thank you also for the kind recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing