We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay: luxury and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic stay: luxury and service”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I staying for one night and had a great experience. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the concierge level. The staff was extremely accommodating and responsive to every request. Room as amazing: large, clean, upscale and luxurious with a huge bathroom.
Friendly staff on concierge floor and perfect location for all the restaurants on east bay street.
We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highendfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel, we are so pleased that you were able to experience the concierge level of our hotel and the many benefits which we offer. I am glad you also enjoyed the accommodations, the cleanliness of our hotel. I will share your kind comments with the team and look forward to your return visit. Thank you once again for sharing your kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    191
    59
    32
    26
See reviews for
225
707
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about our recent stay at this property. The location could not have been better. Did not need a car for the downtown area. All shops/restaurants within easy/reasonable walking distance. Hotel is spotless. Treat yourself to the Concierge level! Worth the extra money. Hot buffet breakfast in the AM, afternoon tea, Happy Hour(s) with snacks in the early evening. Every staff member is professional and courteous. Special recognition goes to bartenders Kamden, Dave, Cheryl and Junior. The concierge(s) Akshaya, Susanne and Kimberly were almost TOO pleasant and helpful if such a thing is possible. Front desk staff very accomodating. Rooftop pool and bar with excellent views of the surrounding area. Did not have a change to dine on the roof, but the food I saw pass by looked wonderful. Great vibe after the sun goes down. If we return to Charleston it will be to go to spot! Treat yourself if you ever visit!!!!

Room Tip: Ask the desk for a room facing the street or water if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are very fortunate to be in the best location in Charleston. I am glad you had a good experience at the Pavilion Bar and I will share your kind comments with the entire team. I am also glad that you enjoyed the concierge level of the hotel and the many amenities which are offered to all our guests staying on that level. We thank you again and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We are overwhelmingly impressed with the service from the doorman to the maid service. Each floor is keyed for privacy. The decor is welcoming and comfortable. The bellman reviewed all elements and procured ice for out water. Staying on the concierge level was remarkable. Kim Kent welcomed us at tea and for evening Champagne. She provided tremendous insight into Charleston and made us feel at home. The concierge, Suzanne was extremely helpful in planning and patiently changing our schedule. Peter Wright, the General Manager was gracious and present literally everywhere. He attended to one request immediately and followed up to be absolutely certain our experience was exceptional. He is the most involved manager I have ever experienced in a hotel. His involvement is evident in all aspects. I have no criticisms and that says a lot.
We also dined on the rooftop restaurant wil wonderful views and great ambiance.

Dinner at Grill 225 was exceptional. The wet aged beef was tender and flavorful. It was indeed all it is noted to be. Brandon Campbell was an experienced waiter with excellent wine recommendations for dinner. The sides were incredible and desserts were superb. Brandon was gracious, knowledgeable and engaging. We had a local guest join us for dinner as a local and she was delighted to return here for dinner.

The overall experience was 5 star and we will certainly return whenever we are in Charleston. We also loved the breakfast on the concierge level and especially the cookies and pastries. You are staying in a home with a family experience.. The diversity of newspapers were appreciated as well as the evening wine selections.

You can't go wrong with this experience and a value for the level of service and attention to detail. Rarely have I found this unique level of service in leading hotels.

The Hermes shampoos, lotions and soaps were unexpected and welcomed. The beds and bedding were so comfortable.

Congratulations to the Market Pavilion!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bluff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
First, please allow me to thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I very much appreciate you taking the time to submit such a comprehensive review. As being a seasoned traveler and being a senior contributor on TripAdvisor we very much value your input and comments. By staying on our concierge level of the hotel, I am so pleased you were able to enjoy the extra benefits which and yes the great desserts by our Executive Pastry Chef Mr. Gerry Elliot. I will share you kind comments with the entire team. We look forward to you staying with us again when your travel plans bring you back to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel right next to the open air market has true southern charm and all the comforts and amenities you would expect in this city. Great rooftop bar. excellent restaurant. Stayed here twice, wonderful experience!

Room Tip: I always like higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us on business at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location and the Pavilion Bar. We are also honored that you are a repeat guest and sharing your wonderful experience with us. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and the place was perfect. Everyone remembered our names and what we we doing. They even catered to our late night cigar smoking on the roof. I am looking forward to staying there again. It is a pricey place but I will definitely make some concessions to be walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion hotel for 4 days. I very much appreciate you sharing your kind comments with us . As we know you have many options in Charleston, we value you as our guest. Thank you also for joining us at the Pavilion Bar. I am so glad our team remembered your names and could accommodate your cigar needs. We look forward to you return and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 night stay at this Hotel. It is in a busy central location in town which is walking to Shopping, the Waterfront Park area, and more resturant options than we could sample. We stayed on the Concierge level and were treated to superb service without the snobby attitude which sometimes accompanies higher end botique hotels . Greeted every morning by a hot and cold breakfast, tea and sandwiches in the afternoon, wine and cheese in the evening. The staff on the 4th floor were warm, engaging individuals who always offered to go above and beyond what is expected. We ate at several fine dining resturants, Husk and The Charleston Grill and found them to both be worth the experiance and cost. On the more casual side, we loved the oysters and shrimp offerings at a cute little bar/resturant named Pearls just a quick walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: THE FOURTH FLOOR,(CONCIERGE LEVEL) was quiet and a great spot to come home to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMnorthboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and being our guest for 5 nights at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We very much appreciate your kind comments and are pleased you enjoyed the many amenities of the concierge level of the hotel. It seems like you were able to also enjoy the many dining options that this fabulous city of Charleston has to offer. I am also glad that you felt like your floor was quiet and a great spot to come home to. Looking forward to your next visit to Charleston and you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amed, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I should start off by stating that I'm a Platinum for life by Marriott - so travel quite a bit. I read an article on CNN and decided to step away from Marriott and stay here for one night on a trip to Charleston. The hotel is absolutely stunning. I give it 5 stars when it comes to decor, cleanliness etc. The room I got was beautiful until I opened the curtains and was eye level with the 2nd floor parking deck!! I hate keeping my curtains closed but felt like I was in a fishbowl and had to. I should have asked for another room but I didn't. We did have drinks up on the roof but the menu was so limited and I don't like the plastic glasses so we went downstairs. Clearly a top notch restaurant. Our food was excellent but I think they need to get some more mature servers. They would take our chilled sparkling water and fill our glasses to the brim...whats the point of chilling it if you are going to pour it all out and let it get warm in our glass. I know this sounds like a minor complaint but there were many little things like that...when you pay the prices here you want exceptional service. Would I stay here again? Probably but I would request a room that wasn't on the parking deck.

Room Tip: Make sure its not looking out on the parking deck if you are on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muucows71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing