We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia
2 reviews
“Love the Rooftop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited the rooftop bar last weekend and loved it. Sure, it was a little crowded but that's because it was so popular. Not only was Chelsea a good server, she was an entertaining one, with great advice about how to continue our weekend. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us. I appreciate you joining us at the Pavilion Bar high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time and the service you received. I will relay the kind note to the team, which I am sure they will appreciate. Thank you once again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    184
    57
    30
    26
See reviews for
219
693
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful location. Rooms were fab.Viva was so nice. Our kids loved it. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Wish the pool was slightly bigger and didn't close at 5 pm but we still enjoyed it.

The only negative was the service we received at the rooftop bar and grill. Our server seemed to forget we were even there. It took an hour to receive our meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBailey0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you and your children enjoyed the stay, the accommodations and our location. I will share your kind comments with Viva, which I am sure she will appreciate. I must apologize for any service deficiencies that you encountered. I am not sure what time you were having your meal, but I can assure you this is not the norm for us and has been addressed with the team. I thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Remarkable view, good drinks, good service! We visit this rooftop bar each time we travel to Charleston and are never disappointed. We were there during the latest full moon, and even though there were clouds to contend with, the view was spectacular! This place should be a "must do" on everyone's list while in Charleston.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank captmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for joining us at the Pavilion Bar located high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel. I appreciate that you enjoyed the great service, good drinks and remarkable views. I will share your kind comments to the team and would hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed for our anniversary, great lobby bar. Rooftop can get crowded but still worth it. We asked to share a table with people who had extra chairs and we had a friendly chat while enjoying a cocktail. The lobby bar has martinis infused with nitro! Chocolate one was delicious. Check the website for offers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieEmilio24strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so glad you could join us for your special occasion at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am also glad you enjoyed the Grill Bar and enjoyed one our many Nitrotinis and shared a great experience at the Pavilion Bar with some others guests also. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was nice and in a good location, but the staff was not friendly. You can tell there is not a focus on customer service at this hotel (other than the maintenance man). We came expecting to love this hotel, but due to overall friendliness, it was just an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witnes2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
First, thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you liked our location and the hotel. I must apologize that your experience with the staff you felt was not friendly. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and I have reviewed your comments with the team and can assure you that this is not a normal experience as you will not by other guests comments. I hope to have you back again with us in the future and want to exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future 843-723-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great service from Gregg at the bar and on the rooftop. Exceptional service from all of hotel staff. And cleanliness and turn down service was very nice. Grill 225 dinner was the best in Charleston.
Would definitely return. Maybe a room comp or upgrade would be nice.been there quite a few times and great every time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the exceptional service of all our staff, the cleanliness of our rooms, the turndown service and of course your dining experience at Grill 225. I will share your kind comments with Greg from the Pavilion Bar. As being a member of Leading Hotels of the World, you should consider joining the Leaders Club program. This will offer you many benefits, upgrades, comp stays not only at the Market Pavilion Hotel, but also if you have the opportunity to stay at any other Leading Hotels of the World. I do value your business and wish to say “thank you”. I hope to see you again very soon and do not hesitate to contact me prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a great room and outstanding service. It is a bit over the top grand - but we grew to relish the luxury. We got an outstanding nightly rate ( ending up paying what we paid at a charleston chain hotel earlier in the summer) so look online for midweek specials. At normal rates the hotel may be too pricey but we had a great deal

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and enjoying our “Southern Hospitality” at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you here you enjoyed your room and outstanding service from our team. As being one of the finest hotels in the world and a member of Leading Hotels of the World, I can understand some of your perception, but we want to only lavish our guests with the finest service and accommodations. It’s also good that you were able to stay during a non-peak period to take advantage of the lower rates. I would hope to welcome you back again very soon. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing