We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just got back from the place and loved it. Slight odor in the room, but the service was excellent. We could not have been treated any better. I will be back. I the location is outstanding. The rooftop bar is cool. The place is just awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoelessbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review. I am happy to hear that you found the service to be excellent and the location outstanding. I apologize that there was a slight odor in your room; I have contacted our housekeeping department to look into this matter. Thank you again for choosing the Market Pavilion Hotel and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
There are newer reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

The place to visit for a drink, a view and to watch the marvelous service by the two bartenders - Junior, the seasoned veteran, and Dave, newer to the rarified bar tending the rooftop bar require. They were constantly attentive, quick, polite, and handle multiple orders of customers and servers like seasoned professional jugglers. In winter the bar lights up and keeps warm with vertical gas burners with flames that look like rocket afterburners. If you miss a drink here, you haven't visited Charleston. - Tom Crosby, retired AAA Carolinas executive.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

It was such a pleasure having you join us at Pavilion Bar on top of the Market Pavilion Hotel. Junior and Dave will be pleased to know that they were able to provide you with the same level of service which all our guests receive. Having those bar lights and heaters, it creates a fun atmosphere to enjoy cocktails and some great food. I know many guest from all over the area love to come up to see the view, enjoy the warmth of the heaters and have a same experience. Thank you for sharing your kind comments and I welcome you back on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In terms of service, care and personal attention, this is very hard to top. Mr. Wright, the manager, is omnipresent in terms of caring, hospitality and support. Melissa, the Concierge service person, is simply the best we have ever experienced.

Fortunately we were on the concierge level...so service, amenities, food were wonderful, but wherever we were in the hotel, service was well trained, friendly and so helpful. Well done!

Rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean.

Service at the Grill 225 was extraordinary and the food was superb.

Central location is ideal.

One of our best hotel experiences ever! We will be back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tallmantraveling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Market Pavilion Hotel. To hear that you consider us to be your best hotel experience is truly the best compliment we could hope to receive. Both Melissa and Mr. Wright will be happy to know that you found their service to be exceptional. I am also glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Grill 225 and that you found your room to be spotlessly clean and well appointed. Thank you again for staying at the Market Pavilion and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Amazing drinks in the lobby. Used that food and drink credit to the max. Amazing rooftop bar. In a great location - walkable everywhere. Will definitely stay there again should I find myself in Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaughterofLDTC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our $50.00 food and beverage vouchers at the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225. We look forward to your future stay; thank you again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice now - each time the week between Christmas and New Year's and most recently, two weeks ago. For an extra $100 per night, stay on the concierge floor! It's worth the pampering you receive and the previous reviewer is correct, Melissa is wonderfully delightful (Hail to the Redskins)! The "old world" feel of this 10-year old hotel makes staying in Charleston feel like a trip to Europe. The Grill 225 restaurant (along with the $50 food voucher) makes it so difficult to enjoy all of the other restaurants on E. Bay Street, including Magnolia's (our favorite).

Everyone and everything is perfect every time we visit! Give yourself a special treat - stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Splurge - stay on the concierge level!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug-n-Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy our concierge floor, and Melissa will be delighted to know you found her service to be exceptional. I am also glad that you were able to experience Grill 225 with your $50.00 food and beverage voucher. Thank you again for choosing the Market Pavilion Hotel and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you enjoy luxury, delivered by genuine, caring people, look no further than The Market Pavilion Hotel in Charleston! We arrived this past Friday for a weekend getaway. From the time we met a valet in front of the hotel until he met us with our vehicle on Sunday, it was a flawless experience. Mr. Peter Wright, the General Manager, was amazing. His attention to detail coupled by his kindness was evident throughout our stay. He has a winning team here! I also want to mention Lilly, the bartender at the lobby bar. She was exceptional. You owe it to yourself to stop by for a drink. Finally, we had Filet Mignons for lunch one day and without question it was the best piece of beef I've eaten anywhere! I have reservations there in April and can't wait. It was a delight to see good old customer service and luxury alive and well!
Thanks for everything,
William N

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review. We certainly do appreciate such kind words. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and also had a chance to dine at Grill 225. Mr. Wright and Lilly will be delighted to know that you found their service to be flawless and exceptional. Thank you again for staying at the Market Pavilion Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and really like it...but our visit from 26-30 December 12 was the best! Staff was very helpful. We stayed on the concierge floor and our host, Melissa, made it even more special. She made a special effort to engage with all the guests and introduce the guests to each other. As a result, we felt like we made new friends on this trip! Melissa is a real gem. She had great recommendations on restaurants and attractions too! Hotel restaurant and bar also not to be missed. JB, who attended us at dinner in 225 Grill was also a top notch professional! Hotel is beautiful...not too big and not too small. Perfectly located. We'll stay again! Only criticism...fitness facility not as nice as the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Concierge floor is worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. Melissa and JB will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed their professional and engaging service. Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments and looks forward to your return. I apologize that the fitness facility did not meet your expectations; please feel free to contact me directly to discuss any specific comments or recommendations you may have. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $294 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing