We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel, wonderful for weddings, but shame about WiFi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful for weddings, but shame about WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding - the ceremony on the roof top, the meal afterwards and the hospitality was flawless. The rooms and service were excellent. We were on the deluxe/executive floor, so were able to benefit from a hot breakfast, as well as drinks and snacks through the day.We had a good lunch in the restaurant one day, which we enjoyed. The rooftop bar was superb, with great views. Our only complaint was having to go downstairs in order to be able to use WiFi - in this day and age in where more people travel with technology that does not physically plugged in with ethernet cables, this is totally unacceptable in an expensive, modern hotel. If the WiFi were available in the rooms, I would not hesitate to stay again, but not otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
First, thank you for staying with us and I am very happy to hear that you had a great time at the Wedding at the Pavilion Bar and enjoyed dinner afterwards. We pride ourselves or creating memorable experiences for your entire stay. I am also happy that you were able to enjoy lunch a Grill 225. I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced regarding the Wi-Fi, but be assured that we have reviewed any inconsistency and have corrected. Please know that if your travels bring you back to the States we would love to welcome you back home the Market Pavilion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    179
    54
    28
    26
See reviews for
209
658
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Inn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Market Pavilion Hotel because he had a work meeting at the rooftop bar two weekends ago. I am STILL talking about the amazing stay we had! We were on the concierge floor, and Melissa was with us most of our time there. She went above and beyond to attend to us, and we could not have been more impressed. In fact - the first night, we had such a great time with the other guests and Melissa on the fourth floor, we didn't even go to dinner! The general manager was on our floor several times checking on everything as well. Even the valet remembered us and went out of his way to take care of us. The rooms were amazing, the food was delicious, the location is perfect, the service was better than we could have imagined...I was so sad to leave! No other hotel even comes close to Market Pavilion - in fact, we are already planning our next trip to stay with you for our anniversary next month. :) Thank you for EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: Concierge level, all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind assessment. I am glad you were able to enjoy the benefits of staying on our concierge level; a full hot breakfast, afternoon tea, and complimentary beer, wine, champagne, and hors d'oeuvres. Melissa will be pleased to know that you found her service to be top notch. Thank you again for your stay and we hope that the next time you visit Charleston you choose the Market Pavilion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perhaps this is the best American hotel where I ever stayed (so far). The level of hospitality is unparalleled. Everything is perfect: location, room, service and staff. Such people, like Kelly, Amanda, Mike, Elisa would be right at home at Four Seasons in terms of their dedication to the traveler's needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The hotel is honored that you consider us one of the best hotels you have ever visited. I am sure that Kelly, Amanda, Mike, and Allyssa will be thrilled to know that their hard work has been appreciated. Again, thank you for your recent stay and we look forward to serving you the next time you travel to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was traveling on business and I couldn't have been more pleased with the attention to detail and and staff follow through concerning a few special requests for my various business needs, meetings and dinner reservations. Speaking of dinner, the meals @ their 225 Grill were delicious and the service was tops! We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive assessment. I am glad you were able to experience our world class southern hospitality. Our staff will be pleased to know that we were able to meet all of your requests. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Words really cannot descibe the feeling while enjoying the view and most notably the service!!!We were in Charleston only 2 days and spent each evening at the Pavilion.A special Thanks to Greg(our waiter)he was fantastic!!!And also,Greg the F&B Mgr.for spending the time to speak with us,and to Mr Wright for making us feel so welcome.The Market Pavilion is our next vacation for sure,and while we're there we'll enjoy Charleston...Thanks again Eric and Wendy

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you were able to spend some time with us at the Pavilion Bar. I know Greg V, Greg S, and Mr. Wright will all be thrilled to know that you found the service to be outstanding. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I only had one night in Charleston and glad I stayed at Market Pavillion. The room was very nicely decorated, very clean and well priced. Great location, in walking distance of everything. We had drinks at the roof top bar with a delicious pear, walnut and blue cheese thin crusted pizza. Great service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. Our location, furnishings, dining options, and staff make our hotel the perfect place to rest and relax after a day of traveling. We hope you choose the Market Pavilion Hotel the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location if you are visiting Charleston as a tourist as it is ground zero and in the heart of action. If you are looking for an out-of-the way place with lots of peace and quiet outside this is not your place. Room appointments and bedding are among the best in town. Comfy beds and easy chairs, quality bath fixtures-you get the picture. Staff is friendly and helpful and rooftop bar is a complete home run. Lobby restaurant is among the city's finest but a little pricey for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on Market Street to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind assessment. I am pleased you enjoyed our location; we truly are at the epicenter of all that Charleston has to offer. Our staff will be happy to know that their efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for your recent stay and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing