We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Market Pavilion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$239
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$239
$219
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,567)
Filter reviews
1,567 results
Traveler rating
1,232
213
63
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,232
213
63
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge levelrooftop barpeter wrighthermes toiletriescoffee and pastriesturn down serviceevery morningthe general managerhotel guestsbeautiful hoteleast bay streetconcierge desksouthern hospitalityguest roomscookiesthe location is perfectlate afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 1,567 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location if you are visiting Charleston as a tourist as it is ground zero and in the heart of action. If you are looking for an out-of-the way place with lots of peace and quiet outside this is not your place. Room appointments and bedding are among the best in town. Comfy beds and easy chairs, quality bath fixtures-you get the picture. Staff is friendly and helpful and rooftop bar is a complete home run. Lobby restaurant is among the city's finest but a little pricey for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on Market Street to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind assessment. I am pleased you enjoyed our location; we truly are at the epicenter of all that Charleston has to offer. Our staff will be happy to know that their efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for your recent stay and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family and I (Children are 8 and 3) typically come to Charleston for an overnight stay to break up our beach vacation while we are in South Carolina. We try to find a hotel with a pool and something that is within walking distance to shops and restaurants which this hotel had both. We were pretty much the only people in the rooftop pool (grant it was a weekeday) which was great. The pool did close at 4 or 5 p.m. which I thought was odd, but the bar got pretty lively so probably not the best place for kids anyway. The package we chose had a food voucher, which was not very kid friendly. i.e. Not good on room service and expired at midnight the night of arrival. We did stay on the concierge floor so the snacks, drinks and breakfast were outstanding. The only other odd thing would be the entrance to the hotel and valet which was in via their restaurant, in case you are driving around the block a few times. Other than that our room was SPOTLESS.. the cleanliness was amazing. Everyone was extremely friendly including the valet who saved a spot out front for us the morning of check out so we could do more exploring. The view from the roof when the cruise ship came in was also perfect. Overall well worth the $$$.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Market Pavilion Hotel for your recent stay. I am pleased your family was able to take advantage of our wonderful rooftop pool. The pool does close at 4 in the afternoon, as the Pavilion Bar does tend to get more traffic at this time. I do hope you were able to use your food and beverage voucher either at the Grill 225 or the Pavilion Bar. This offer is a great way to sample the unique tastes of each restaurant. Our housekeeping department will be happy to be recognized for their efforts in keeping our hotel spotless at all times. Again, we sincerely thank you for your thoughtful words and we hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Great place to valet your car ($20/worth it) and walk to everything. The rooms are big, VERY quiet and have comfortable beds and linens. There is morning coffee and pastries near the elevator every morning which was really good. We took advantage of the rooftop bar ($25 voucher each days stay at check in/thanks) and had two great drinks & dessert. Am assuming the wait staff gets stiffed on tips with the vouchers so tip well! Overall, a great place to stay with amenities that won't let you down. Really close to everything including a Harris Teeter (grocery store) on 290 East Bay, tons of great restaurants, bars and definitely take a carriage ride (we were happy with Classic Carriage Works).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grill225, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of our property. Additionally, we are sincerely happy that you enjoyed all of our one-of-a-kind value added amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from another lovely trip to Charelston and the Market Pavilion Hotel. After many trips the hotel keeps improving. Our twelve year old had a birthday while on our trip, Kelly in reservation and Susanne went above and beyond to make the day special for her. While we were out they placed her presents on the bed, and had a special desert prepaired for her on the rooftop, what a day.
From Kelly on the concierge level, to Lilly at the downstairs bar, to the door staff the hotel is great! But, it's the people who make it special. Hope to see everyone next year!!!

Robert, Carol, and Ellie Powers
October 14-18,2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grill225, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are very happy that everyone exceeded your expectations. We agree that it is all about the people, so we are very happy that so many of our staff members made your family’s trip so memorable. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very pleased with the hotel and amenities. However we had an after dinner drink and our server had been at work since 10 am. Could see the exhaustion in her appearance and behavior. Apparently these hours are not uncommon. Management needs to care for their people to increase the overall experience for guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grill225, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit. We appreciate your feedback. The Market Pavilion Hotel prides itself on being a great and fair employer to our hardworking staff. Several of our loyal employees have been with our hotel since 2002. Having said that, most of our new staff members are derived from recommendations by our existing loyal employees. Tourism in Charleston can be weekend driven and our food and beverage staff members know the value of working a double on a busy weekend, which is not uncommon in the hospitality industry. While only a small percentage of our staff work a double shift in any given day, they are each given a 2-4 hour break before the start of a busy shift. Yes the day can get long, but on occasion that is the nature of the hospitality industry. Having said that, we can assure you that our staff members are getting the rest and time off that they deserve. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews