We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't believe bad reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris Island Lighthouse

Morris Island Lighthouse
Book In Advance
$45*
and up
2-Hour Salt Marsh Cruise from Folly Beach
Ranked #33 of 209 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't believe bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

It's an amazing historic lighthouse and just not that far of a walk. People are amazingly lazy. It's easily a 1/4 mile with a sandy hilly part at the end (FYI those that are mobility impaired). It's serene and secluded. Totally worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    74
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Please take the boat and don't bother with the park and walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I've read any number of negative reviews from folks who have driven, parked and walked the long distance to see the lighthouse. And I understand that. If I had done that, I probably wouldn't have thought of this as a highlight in Charleston. Take a boat to Morris island and walk to see the light house from close up. I'm posting a picture from that day. Given Trip Advisor's rules about mixing sights in the same review, just look for boat trips to see the lighthouse or my reviews in general.

Helpful?
3 Thank bumper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Well my husband walked and took pictures. We took our small dog during hr allow on beaches. BUT they are not allow to be on that area of the beach anytime. Very disppointed. I cannot walk as good as my husband at this time so he went and took pics for me. I stayed with Jasper in the car, it was not a short drive from our Inn and we were not planning on another trip this way this visit. We did take Jasper on Folly Beach where permitted, he does not like the water that moves so much HA!! Still had a good time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sflicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The walk wasn't bad, and the view was totally worth it. We saw dolphins playing in the inlet right in front of the lighthouse. Cool drift wood. You can't get to the lighthouse but it's a beautiful view. I have three teenage girls they all had fun looking around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hot walk for short trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Why would they block a perfect entrance way...hot walk that is longer than the 1/4 mile sign states...and bugs a plenty to view a lighthouse. I wouldn't recommend make an extra trip for this photo op.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cherri t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris Island Lighthouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Morris Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing