We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely return”
Review of Tattooed Moose

Tattooed Moose
Ranked #33 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I would definitely return”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Everything from the duck, wings and chicken salad were great. They go the extra mile and prepare things with extra touches.... Service was good, and we topped it off with chocolate, bacon pie.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    268
    52
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“French Fry Heaven with a Touch of the Devil”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Whoa, now here's where you get some French Fries fried in duck fat with a side dish of gravy, a Burger and a beer on tap. You wanted to visit because it was featured on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. They don't care. They served great food before Guy Fieri got there and great food after he left. The only concession to the TV appearance is that now you can buy a Tattooed Moose T-Shirt. A great local Honkey- Tonk with a waiter that looked like he walked all the way from 1968 Haight-Ashbury, San Francisco just to take your order.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“TV Food Stop”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stopped in after seeing this place on TV. Ordered the garlic and bleu cheese fries, in my opinion a must, these exceeded all expectations. The garlic comes out on top so you can determine the level of garlic on the fries. Ordered the Duck Club which was good, not in the habit of ordering duck, but it is what they are known for. It was good but not mind blowing. My girlfriend ordered the moose burger which was was also very good. They have a nice selection of craft beers which also scored points in my book. They also have happy hour specials, that we missed out on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Looked this place up because of it's Tripadvisor ratings - we were not disappointed. Eclectic atmosphere, good beer selection, and great food. You just have to try the duck fat fries. The place is packed and parking is at a premium, but it is worth the wait - and the drive to find the place. I will definitely return to the MOOSE.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBikerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“looks are deceiving .. ”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

it looks like the kind of dive I wouldn't take my girl to .. we went on a Monday night wasn't too busy, relatively clean, decent music, great beer selection, we ordered the Duck Club with duck fat fries healthy portions and great taste an A+ .. bacon chocolate cake was super chocolatey, almost too much .. B+ .. service staff was helpful and pretty on point .. I will be back and will bring others given the chance

Helpful?
Thank SpyderKumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tattooed Moose also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tattooed Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing