We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great time in the swamp! (Never thought I’d say that)

Luke was a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. We all learned a lot and really enjoyed this... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jeanninej428
BLACK WATER SWAMP TOUR BUT SO RELAXING

My sister & I took the SWAMP tour @ Middleton plantation. She had never wanted to go kayaking but... read more

Reviewed February 18, 2020
Talknwaters
,
Ozark, Missouri
Read all 377 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Charleston
from $48.21
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
from $51.09
More Info
from $25.65
More Info
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
361
12
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
361
12
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river black water cypress swamp tour middleton place flora and fauna unique experience middleton plantation fantastic trip knowledgeable guide local history south carolina luke blackwater paddling marsh birds inn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 377 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2019

It was the best kayak tour we have been on! Luke was so knowledgeable about, well everything! We got to see alligators up close which thrilled us being alligator less in CA. It was a perfect day and Luke let us set the pace. He even gave us some extra time which made the experience so relaxing. I only wish we could do it every day!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Debbi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

Our very knowledgeable guide, Luke, kept us entertained and at ease on this very approachable trip. The swamp is truly beautiful, and I can't think of another way you could explore it so fully in all its glory. We saw owls, ibis and a host of other birds- magnificent!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019

Reservations were a snap. Our guide was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the flora and fauna on our 2 hr trip. Pace was set by us and we never felt like we had to keep up. We originally wanted single kayaks but opted for a tandem and that was made available to us immediately.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019 via mobile

Just me and the boyfriend went out on the water first thing Monday morning. We saw 3 or 4 gators, lots of different birds. Relaxing and fun at the same time! Luke gave us instructions before so we were in the know about everything!—Thank you Luke! Highly Recommended!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank rachelm515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

I would recommend the trip and our super guide Spencer. Its a great place to see different kind of birds and small aligators. Its not dengerous. Specer gave us a very good lesson about the beautiful area and animals.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank martafoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews