We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have a few hours and a credit card”
Review of Two Boroughs Larder - CLOSED

Two Boroughs Larder
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you have a few hours and a credit card”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food is good. Some things, like the roasted okra, were awesome. Had better sweetbreads elsewhere and noodle bowl kinda yuk. Service very laid back -- count on waiting half hour at least after sitting until first app arrives. At least 45 to an hour for entree. I'm into enjoying the evening but I could see others were antsy too. I recommend going for glass of wine at the bar and apps. Dinner elsewhere. Very good ambience and cool adult crowd. But too expensive for farmers market vegetables.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scmom2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great lunch and I loved their merchandise”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We ended up here after walking what seemed like miles to get to the Hominy Grill...only to find there was an hour+ wait.
I had seen the Larder mentioned on Bon Appetit's website and it happened to be just around the corner. We called first to see what kind of a wait they had and they said none, so we booked on over.
Cute place, kind of hipster-ish. We had a very enjoyable lunch.
The owners' dog, Walter, is their mascot and they sell alot of merchandise with phrases about Walter. This totally cracked me up because my boyfriend's name is Walter. I bought a growler that had "Walter's pissed" printed on it. Totally fun and a great souvenir!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juilletdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A memorable dining experience--food done right, gracious service, low-key ambience. I would not visit Charleston without eating here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“local neighborhood restaurant for a unique culinary experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed unique food combinations and ambiance at this locally owned and sourced establishment. We had the Wagyu Tartar, Octopus, Roasted Goat, and Lonza with a few IPA's. The service was Southern hospitality at it's best. Thanks to Kevin McQuade, concierge at Courtyard Marriott Historic District, for the great recommendation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remarkAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path and worth it”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Dined for lunch 6/12/13

Decided to go check it out and maybe grab lunch. Upon entering it looks like a hodgepodge of restaurant and retail and market with tables, shelfs o'stuff, food to buy and a bar tuck in the corner. We decided to sit down and our server/cashier promptly attended I us. We had some drinks and some incredible food. We dined on some cured ham which was melt in your mouth good, warm olives (yum), perfectly cooked tender delicious octopus, sweetbreads which were beautifully presented delicious and lastly the delectable waygu steak tartare, which was perfect. To finish of our server recommended the oatmeal pie with caramel ice cream. We skeptical at first because neither had ever heard of it but oh my it was amazing. Truly can't miss. It's like a gooey brown sugar pie kind of like pecan pie with pecans. Plate licking worthy. Nice meal and great attentive service. Worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Boroughs Larder also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing