We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
391
237
90
33
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
237
90
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king street front desk valet parking meeting room historic downtown meeting street free trolley valet staff visitor center modern hotel few blocks bars and restaurants within walking distance hotel restaurant market area the room was nice definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 780 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

The room was clean, decor was great and quiet. The host, valet and custodial staffing all were very hospitable, everyone spoke and smiled, they should train people on customer service. My daughters and I make an annual girls trip and ur staff helped make wonderful memories, thank u very much.

I would recommend to anyone!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Debi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 26, 2016

Dear Debi,
Greetings from the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic! We are very appreciative of your 5 star review and we are elated to hear that you had a fantastic stay experience at our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to drop in your wonderful compliments for our team members. The team strives to ensure flawless service to our guests and reviews like yours only motivate them to further their efforts.
It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next Annual trip!
Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Overall the hotel is very clean and well maintained. Pool was great for kids, especially to cool down from the hot day after exploring. Sites are within walking distance but not super close. Market area was 10 minute cab ride. Close to ship port, which was our reason for staying.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2016

Dear Melissa P,
Thank you for visiting us and sharing this review. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the hotel. Many people prefer our area of the Historic District as it gets them away from the traffic and noise, but they are still close enough to get to the Market Street area by the free trolley that picks up and drops off right across the street from the hotel.We will look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to the Charleston area.

Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

Firstly, do not be mislead by the name of the facility. The hotel is NOT downtown in the Historic District. It was a 10-15 drive from downtown, not including the time it took to find a parking place (which we also had to pay for). If we walked, it took us about 25 minutes to reach the Historic District. Also, the hotel snuck in a $25 dollar per day parking fee. We could come and go as we pleased, but that didn't really make up for the SURPRISE! of having to pay so much just to park our car. The room itself was satisfactory. It was a typical double room - no frills. If anything, it was on the little small side. We stayed for 3 nights/4 days and not one time did housekeeping come to our room. We even put a sign on the door and asked the front desk to send housekeeping to the room, but to avail. We had trash climbing the walls and we had to reuse dirty towels. We had to use and reuse one tiny block of soap approximately 2"by2". The room included a mini fridge and hairdryer. Nowhere did it say that these appliances worked, so I guess technically, the hotel didn't lie by laying claim to false advertising. There was no free breakfast in the hotel restaurant, not even for our children. There was a buffet, but it cost $13 per person. Once tax and tip were added, the bill for our mediocre breakfast was almost $60. We also ate there for dinner one night. The food was even worse tasting and even more expensive. We ended up having to send some of it back because it was inedible. The good points were that the staff was friendly and they retrieved our car in a relatively speedy manner. It was a good thing too because the area in which the hotel was located was filled with a plethora of bums/homeless people. All in all the hotel, was NOT a good travelling experience. I wish we had paid a little more money and gotten a better place to stay. It would have made the trip so much more enjoyable,

Room tip: See my review.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for being our guest and we are apologetic that your stay with us was not satisfactory. As a team we have discussed your review and we can and will do better from an operations standpoint. We will also get with our housekeeping team to ensure that we hit time commitments properly so we can provide this service at a time best for you. We are in the Historic District one block from Upper King Street which has some of the best restaurants and bars around. Many people prefer our area of the Historic District as it gets them away from the noise, but they are still close enough to get to the Market st. area by trolley. I am more than willing to discuss all of your issues personally and I would welcome that opportunity. We appreciate your business and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Booked the room on Trivago Said the room was paid at the quoted price never mentioned an additional charge of $19.00 because renovations going on and there is no parking (valet only) The room is clean and nice. But they should tell you upfront about the parking. Ok it's hot in SC

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Voyage636910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Historic Charleston and for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please accept our apologies as we have reached out to IHG to see if they can contact the Market Manager for Trivago/Booking.com to update our hotel amenities and services that we provide. Trivago is affiliated with Booking.com which states a $19 charge as private parking. We will make sure it states $19 for Valet Parking only. Since you gave us the feedback which can be easily remedied, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

I had the last room in the booked-out hotel, and the AC vent was making a lot of noise. They sent a person who told me they could not fix the problem that night. I was given the option to go to the Holiday Inn at the Water Front or have a usd45 discount. They also gave me a free breakfast, so they made up for it. Otherwise I found everything ok, quiet and spacious rooms, but not cheap for what it is.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank ADRIAAN IZAAK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2016

Dear Adriaan Izaak L,

Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic and we are apologetic about the loud A/C vent in your room. As a team we have discussed your review with the Maintenance crew and we are addressing this issue from an ownership standpoint. Our rates are set to be competitive with all of the other similar hotels in our area and we are priced lower than our competition. We feel that our location puts us in a great position when you consider all the factors. Our brand continues to grow so we hope you will continue to stay with us and look for it as you travel.

Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews