We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprising Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Doylestown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Surprising Find”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This is the finest Holiday Inn at which we have ever stayed. The views immediately around it need a lot if work but this is a diamond in the rough. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and responsive. They have a library on the second floor, among their nice touches. Two of the best restaurants in Charleston (Ordinary, Grocery) and a nice spot for ice cream are less than 2 blocks away. Lots of shopping and food on King Street, one block over.

We walked to the College of Charleston and then to lunch and the museum. The waterfront is about 10 minutes on the free trolley (stop is 1 block away). A great choice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Many thanks for the kind remarks.
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    216
    74
    29
    20
See reviews for
154
293
17
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Extremely nice hotel, felt almost like IHG's boutique line Hotel Indigo. Rooms, bathrooms, common areas, and restaurant/bar are fashionably decorated and chic.

Pool area, though small, is very nice. Hotel has a "library" that is nice and quiet.

20 minute walk from downtown...and safe and well lit.

The hotel sits on northern end of the revitalization and gentrification of Meeting Street. At night a number of homeless congregate across the street but seemed harmless. Hotel does have a security guard. Lastly, being an affordable brand in a city ripe with high-end accommodations, this hotel draws a younger crowd who return to their rooms late at night.
Overall nice hotel that is changing the neighborhood.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank spreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
As a Top Contributor I certainly appreciate your valued input.
I am delighted you liked the hotel and as you mentioned we are in the middle of an area of town which is definitely experiencing some significant reinvestment.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

As has been said before, the location is not in the historic downtown where most of the really great old buildings are. That area is about a 20 minute walk. A block to the West is an area where there are a lot of shops and restaurants that appears to be up and coming.

Our room faced the street, so there was no view. But it was quiet and the front desk let us check in a bit early. Valet parking is $16/day, and we had no problem getting our car.

All in all, a decent place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Evans224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
As you correctly point out we are only one block from King Street which is certainly the happening area in Charleston.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Awesome value. Has a shuttle stop across the street, in an area being gentrified. The bar/restaurant has an excellent happy hour, and the staff is very knowledgeable and courteous. Not exactly downtown, but close to some restaurants on king st.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank m034842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel because of Trip Advisor stamp of excellence. The hotel is clean and looks nice. The staff is friendly but helpless. We went to have breakfast to their restaurant two mornings in a row and every time had to fight flies that were all over our food and the buffet. When complained to the front desk, all they said was sorry about that. Also, they advertised that breakfast was included in the price ( which was already too expensive for a holiday inn) but then it turned out that only $20 for two is covered so we had to pay the difference for having the buffet. And food overall isn't good at the restaurant.
In addition, the hotel is close to Kings St. but in bad neighborhood so if you are used to nice hotels don't stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered in the restaurant.
I would like to assure you that the matter has been addressed.
I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. It is a short drive to the heart of downtown, but that made it easier to get out and explore the rest of the Charleston area.
First impressions: Property is modern and fairly new, it looks great. The valet / bell team are superb - it is nearly impossible to open your own door or touch your own luggage! Without being pushy or obtrusive, they are very helpful and professional.
The front desk clerks are great as well. They double as the concierge: they got us into one of the city's finest restaurants on a Saturday night with very little notice. We also several recommendations from them for other restaurants we tried.
Because the property is so new, there is lots of light and a nice modern decor throughout.
The hotel bar and restaurant is a nice surprise (for a Holiday Inn). It is a tapas (small plate) focus, with very creative and tasty options. Although, service was a bit slow late one night, overall we would dine there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on-the-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words.
I personally feel we have a wonderful team who sincerely care from the moment you arrive until departure.
I have shared your comments with the valet dept, front desk and restaurant.
Again, my thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel was nice, a little further from downtown than I would have liked. Too far to walk, but just couple minutes by car. We had two suites and they were clean and comfortable. The only issue we encounted was the Valet service they provided. The cost was not the issue, (16 dollars per day) the issue was the actual people doing the valet service. It was a 5 out of 10 during the day. (the valet people also acted as bell hops so you had to wait for valet while the loaded and unloaded cars and took people inside) But at night the whole valet concept when south. They were either untrained or just incompetent. The parking spaces were always full and had to use parking meter just to leave car for valet. The one handicap space was always filled with a car waiting for valet. The management listened to my complaint and agreed it was unacceptable, but they were unable to resolve. Really felt like the owners son was the valet and everyone was scared to tell them to do their job. Or maybe that was the expectation. The stay was nice, the bar was good, they have a restaurant onsite that was handy.

Room Tip: Get a balcony or suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREQUENTFLYER12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear FREQUENTFLYER12345,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Moreover, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 61 in Charleston
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing