We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, not far from the heart of Charleston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great spot, not far from the heart of Charleston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. It is a short drive to the heart of downtown, but that made it easier to get out and explore the rest of the Charleston area.
First impressions: Property is modern and fairly new, it looks great. The valet / bell team are superb - it is nearly impossible to open your own door or touch your own luggage! Without being pushy or obtrusive, they are very helpful and professional.
The front desk clerks are great as well. They double as the concierge: they got us into one of the city's finest restaurants on a Saturday night with very little notice. We also several recommendations from them for other restaurants we tried.
Because the property is so new, there is lots of light and a nice modern decor throughout.
The hotel bar and restaurant is a nice surprise (for a Holiday Inn). It is a tapas (small plate) focus, with very creative and tasty options. Although, service was a bit slow late one night, overall we would dine there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on-the-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words.
I personally feel we have a wonderful team who sincerely care from the moment you arrive until departure.
I have shared your comments with the valet dept, front desk and restaurant.
Again, my thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    193
    58
    24
    18
See reviews for
144
265
14
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel was nice, a little further from downtown than I would have liked. Too far to walk, but just couple minutes by car. We had two suites and they were clean and comfortable. The only issue we encounted was the Valet service they provided. The cost was not the issue, (16 dollars per day) the issue was the actual people doing the valet service. It was a 5 out of 10 during the day. (the valet people also acted as bell hops so you had to wait for valet while the loaded and unloaded cars and took people inside) But at night the whole valet concept when south. They were either untrained or just incompetent. The parking spaces were always full and had to use parking meter just to leave car for valet. The one handicap space was always filled with a car waiting for valet. The management listened to my complaint and agreed it was unacceptable, but they were unable to resolve. Really felt like the owners son was the valet and everyone was scared to tell them to do their job. Or maybe that was the expectation. The stay was nice, the bar was good, they have a restaurant onsite that was handy.

Room Tip: Get a balcony or suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREQUENTFLYER12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear FREQUENTFLYER12345,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Moreover, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice, updated clean place. Swimming area, outside and small but nice. Rooms clean, updated decor. safe, fridge and I think a microwave all in the room. Liked the 2nd floor as it was close to the pool. Bartender gave better information on where to go in the historic district than the front desk.

Room Tip: Liked the 2nd floor as it was close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm surprised the front desk was not more helpful. They are often mentioned extremely positively on their recommendations.
I certainly appreciate your input.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. Very friendly and courteous staff; great room with comfortable bed; hotel is about one year old and shows no signs of wear. The area around the hotel looks a bit dicey and cabs may be the best option to get further South on Meeting Street.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrskillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the staff. They all appreciate it.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we discovered that we had to pay for valet parking every day. No one told us that. We check in and go to room the door wouldn't open and had to get another key. Open the door and there is someone in that room! Go back down to find another room only to discover it only had a shower. So we had to go to another room with a bathtub. We had to use the bellman every time so that meant we were tipping them every time. The room did not include breakfast like they usually do. None of these things were told to us when we made the reservation. We have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express and not one of them was like this. We shortened our stay there because of all these things.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Karen D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the policies of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my wife during our visit to Charleston. The hotel looks quite new, and the check in was quick. We used the valet parking, there didn't appear to be any self-park options but $16 per night was reasonable (and cheaper than Savannah where we had just stayed). The hotel is not really close to the historic district, it's essentially a 20+ minute walk to that area. There are some museums nearby, and a few historic homes, but the bulk of the historic sites are probably best reached by the free trolley service that loops around town. Be aware that the trolley can be intermittent, we waited once for nearly 30 minutes before giving up and walking.

Now about the hotel. It was located in what I'd consider a borderline safe neighborhood. A few blocks to the east and north are areas you probably don't want to walk through, while a block west and south are some of the finest restaurants in Charleston. So just make sure you turn the right way when you exit the hotel. There is a lot of construction going on, so the neighborhood appears to be on the upswing. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, a very nice restaurant off the lobby, and a nice outdoor pool on the second floor with lots of seating. There is also a washer and dryer for guest use on the second floor which came in handy though on one day there was a wait. It would probably be good for the hotel to add another washer/dryer on another floor. The room was bright and spacious, nice shower stall with great water pressure. I was surprised that such a new hotel with technology like LED bulbs in many fixtures would not have USB charging in the room, but at least there were plenty of outlets.

All in all a very nice hotel for a good price. Excellent location for eateries, including Halls Chophouse and The Ordinary as well as less expensive options including a fantastic donut place and an ice cream shop. So plan on hoofing it a distance to get to the historic sections, but you'll have a pleasant stroll for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool may be quieter, but even 2nd floor facing the street was not too noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Most fixtures had CFL or LED energy saving bulbs and the thermostat was also easy to adjust.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Many thanks for your in depth review of the hotel.
There is indeed a great deal of redevelopment in the area and we are pleased to be part of it.
Charleston has many great restaurants, If not dining in ours, our location is perfect to enjoy the wide selection on King St.
Again, we all appreciate your thoughtful feedback, and hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I like Holiday Inn so I stay here. It is about a 10 min walk to the middle of town and maybe 15 if you are going all the way to the main street but the walk is nice. We did not eat at the restaurant but they had free coffee in the morning. It was clean and the internet worked. I slept good and that is what I need in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdoptionGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you chose our hotel.
Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing