We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is only one year old. Close to the visitors center, 15/20 minute walk from historic area. Staff very friendly quiet. Good restaurant, but service a little slow, but sometimes it is nice to sit and chat and wait for fresh food! I wailed stay here again in an instant. On bus route to town. Valet parking, car rental within 200 yards of hotel, if you need one!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teatime-today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the hotel.
I'm glad to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    216
    74
    29
    20
See reviews for
155
293
17
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel during our first visit to Charleston at the end of April. Comments from other reviewers prompted me to pick this Holiday Inn: it's relatively new, the amenities were all good, rooms clean and comfortable, the staff friendly, the restaurant served tasty food, all these at a very competitive price. After my stay, I can definitely confirm all these points. Still, it was the location that made me very happy. We actually enjoyed the 1-mile or so walk towards the Historic district. This short distance gave us a sense of peace and quiet, away from the busy tourist-centric streets. Also, we enjoyed really impressive restaurants within a few blocks: "The Ordinary" on King, and "Coast" on John. Yes, when walking to / from the hotel at night, we were aware that we should always be alert in urban areas but were never uncomfortable. Another positive experience with the location was the convenience with car rental. When we wanted to visit the Drayton Hall planation and other attractions outside the city, the rental car agency was 2 blocks from the hotel on Meeting Street. At the end of the day, I returned the car and thus avoided parking charges. Furthermore, Sprint Street, 1 block north of the hotel, was the recommended route to drive outside Charleston. How convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngmc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I appreciate your time in leaving such a positive review.
Sounds like you took advantage of some of the great restaurants in Charleston.
It always great to read our guests enjoyed their stay. Thanks for the great advice for any of our potential new guests, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and newborn stayed here for a few days. The room was clean. The staff were great. Like other reviewers said - the location is the only downside to this hotel. It isn't horrible...but literally across the street it seems starts the 'run down' section of downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fuggedaboudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for the review,
I am pleased your family enjoyed their stay.
Regarding our location, we are on the edge of great things that are happening.
On your next visit I am sure you will see the difference.
Please come back.
We appreciate you staying with us.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel with spectacular rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was able to spend a relaxing and enjoyable weekend touring around the Charleston area. The location is actually really close to upper King Street with a lot of new hip restaurants and shopping. The hotel is very modern with a really cool roof top pool. Will definitely recommend this place to my friends traveling to Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for sharing.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, and our great location to Upper King.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Holiday Inn Charleston was such a good choice for us. It was close to great restaurants and the staff was friendly and helpful. The shopping nearby was also a plus. We will be back in the future for sure!

Room Tip: Booking a sweet gets you more points for future stays.
See more room tips
Green Features: It is nice to see hotels making efforts to use less and recycle more! In addition to re-using towels they hotel offers plastic recycling. It would be great to see even more of that.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you.
We can't wait to welcome you back.
Delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

So, we've driven about 20 hours before we land in our final destination at Hilton Head. My wife and I wanted to visit charming Charleston (and it is charming) on route. I did some research and yes there are some very quaint southern hospitality hotels in the city if you want to spend $250+ easily. We were going to arrive late and had only a day to tour so we wanted a decently priced hotel, in a good location. We didn't have time to enjoy a pricey hotel, so we picked this one as the reviews were good as was it's location. The reviews are correct.

I'm a silver or gold (I always forget), IHG member so I'm familiar with the various hotels in this group of hotels. This is a very good one. The service on check in was great - very warm. The hotel is in a great location, easy to walk anywhere. One street away is a block of pubs and restaurants which came in handy when we arrived late.

What I liked was unlimited in-out parking privileges and the cost of $16 is for 24 hrs. So we left the car there after we checked out and retrieved it at the end of the day. I prefer to walk and explore cities than have to worry about parking and driving in town.

Just a heads up, the hotel is at the end of a section of city that is going through re-development so that area is sketchy at the moment. However, a new Hyatt is being built and given a year or two from now,the area will likely be very nice. It just throws you for a loop when you arrive off the bridge like we did.

Would we go back to this hotel - yes absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your long trip down south.
I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to IHG whether you be a gold or platinum member. We truly appreciate your business.
Thank you for the kind words, please stop back on your return visit to Canada.
Have a great vacation in Hilton Head.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here at the end of April with my family. Great hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, well apportioned rooms. The bar was great and the food was excellent. Try the pimento burger! We received coupons for free breakfasts for both days we stayed...not sure why, but it was a nice touch. The only downside was the location. Its right on the far edge of the Historic District. Other people have posted they didnt feel safe in the area but I felt completely safe with my wife and kid walking back after dark. The far end of King Dtreet is just a block away and that is the up and coming area right now...loads of new bars and places to eat. There is construction around the hotel but that is only because the rea is being somewhat reborn. It is however a trek to the market and waterfront park. One mile doesnt sound like much but if you are dragging along 2 kids after eating a big meal it feels a long way. Thats the only reason I gave it 4 stars. If you arent young and able bodied or if you have young children then it may not be the place for you. One other minor complaint is that you have to valet your car and it isnt cheap. I would stay here again but only if the discount over more centrally located hotels justified the decision. I think it is perfect for younger people without kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantona15212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay.
I'm glad you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and will ensure I speak to the chef about your positive comments regarding the Pimento Burger.
I think we offer a great option versus staying right Downtown, our hotel is not only convenient but has free trolley service available across the road and great rates.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 61 in Charleston
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing