We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$305
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveler rating
370
222
81
32
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
222
81
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking streetfront deskmeeting roomvalet parkinghistoric downtownmeeting streetfree trolleyvalet staffvisitor centerupper kingmodern hotelbars and restaurantswithin walking distancehotel restaurantthe room was nicedefinitely stay here againupon check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 731 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here with our family over Easter weekend. The staff were truly exceptional - incredibly friendly checkin, but special mention to all the valets. You have to valet your car here, but they are quick, friendly and make it seamless. Hotel is fresh, clean and new - very comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews the neighborhood is gentrifying and the hotel is right on the edge, but a single block from the cool restaurants and shops of North King and we felt very safe walking around and in and out of the historic district (probably 25 mins to walk all the way down to the market). There are shuttles and it's easy to grab a taxi too. Would recommend this very highly to anyone who wants a modern, efficient and friendly place to base themselves while in Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Tom S,
As a Senior Contributor I thank you for your candid review which I am sure many new travelers coming to Charleston will find both trustworthy and a valuable source of information.
We are definitely on the edge of great things happening in Charleston, things are changing so quickly.
Parking Downtown is a nightmare so I'm proud to have a great team of Valets on hand to ease the pain.
There is also a free shuttle accessible directly across the street for trips through out the Historic District.
Being from the UK I don't know when we will have the pleasure, but I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Again Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

First off, to address some reviews on here which state this is a bad neighborhood or that the hotel is in a bad location: If you go a few blocks North or East, I'll admit it gets less glamorous, but welcome to a somewhat large city. Areas change very quickly. However, if you go South down Meeting street or cut across one block to the West you'll be on King street where all the happening places are. Never once did we feel unsafe or that we were too far from the activities.

As for the hotel, it was extremely clean, quiet, and everybody was friendly and helpful -- especially the valets who were down-to-earth, prompt, and friendly. The pool never seemed crowded. Speaking of which we booked a pool view room, which really meant pool area and was on the same floor (floor 2) as the pool, so if we opened our window we immediately saw people outside. That was probably the only downside. Regardless, I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apollo_Diablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your great review.
I'm delighted you made such positive comments regarding our location. The area is being transformed and as you pointed out things change very quickly.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charleston.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just finished a 6 night stay here . Loved everything about the hotel and would highly recommend staying here if visiting Charleston. Staff could not have been more helpful. Room was modern, clean and very quiet and the bathroom was very large with a great walk in shower. Free coffee in the lobby each morning as well as happy hour specials at the bar from 4-6 daily. Very nice library on the second floor to have your morning coffee. Just a short distance to great restaurants and bars on Upper King.Recommend Macintosh, Indaco, Halls and The Belmont.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cygnetNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.
I'm pleased you liked the hotel and service you received. It certainly makes coming to work a pleasure when our guests leave positive feedback.
We hope to welcome you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel is located in a great location, a little north of the hustle and bustle of downtown. Everything is in walking distance and if you need a taxi to and from the hotel to most parts of downtown the rates are very reasonable. You are only 2 blocks from upper King Street with many new stores and more stores to come. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are good size. If you want to rent a car there is an Enterprise 2 blocks away. When we go back to Charleston this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks following your recent visit.
I'm pleased you enjoyed our location and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My sister chose Charleston for her bachelorette weekend and luckily last minute we were able to get 2 connecting rooms. I emailed Guest Services for recommendations and Kristin gave us a ton of great options for dinner & drinks. Our bellman JP was awesome too - we had enough luggage for an entire month :) I would suggest bigger coffee urns for the complimentary coffee in the morning- both mornings I was there it was gone. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you for your review I am glad your weekend was a success.
We hope to welcome you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews