We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The negative reviews for some people (those who have 0 tolerances, picky, natural whiners, etc) may be justified; HOWEVER, if you want an affordable place to stay in Charleston, don't mind a little walking (although the FREE shuttle goes right by the hotel and is only a 5-10 minute trip to downtown), and new, clean hotel, this is the place. As a Priority Platinum member, I had NO problems upgrading our room; all of the front desk people were VERY courteous, accommodating, extremely helpful in recommendations of restaurants, attractions. The free trolley was VERY convenient and eased the tension of having to drive into town, finding parking and PAYING for parking. It IS located "outside" the historic district, but presented NO problems for us

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words.
There is no place like Downtown Charleston and we are doing our best to ensure the Southern Hospitality continues.
While we are still in the Historic District, the area around the hotel is being transformed.
We are all very excited to be part of the rejuvenation of this wonderful city and can't wait to welcome our next guest.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 699 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This location is very good and about 2 blocks from Visitor center. It's a long walk to the Battery so we rode the free charming little trolleys. Hotel staff are super nice and helpful with suggestions, tips, and maps. The bed and linens were like mine at home. I'm very fussy and take my own pillow. Huge bath, great shower. We really liked staying there. Not free but $7.95 breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Nancy,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review.
We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good: The price is affordable yet the room is new, spacious and clean. No bathtub in the room but has large shower booth. Friendly staff. Has a restaurant/bar in modest price. The shuttle from the airport stops at the front of the hotel.

Bad (if you don't have a car): The blocks surrounding the hotel were construction site, petrol station and large parking lot, so pedestrians were scarce in the evening. Not very nice when you walk back alone from historic downtown after dusk, although King street is only few blocks away. If you do not have a car, you might better stay south of visitor center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RieK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and found it to be a good value.
Although on the North end of the Historic District, there are many economical transportation options including the complimentary shuttle which stops directly opposite the hotel.
On closing, I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nice and reasonable stay in Charleston. The one thing to know before you book, is that this hotel is on the outer edge of historic downtown Charleston. It is just one block from King Street, but you will be doing a lot of walking to get to most of the sightseeing areas.

The service here was fantastic and the rooms were very clean. There is a good bar/restaurant in the lobby.The pool was also a nice bonus. There is also a nearby Piggly Wiggly for groceries or anything you might need.

I would highly recommend, but do note the location and if it works for your plans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSavvySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay.
I am glad you liked the hotel and the service you received.
As you pointed out we are on the North End of the Historic District but close to King Street the area where many of Charleston's best restaurants and shops can be found.
When you next visit I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pissed does not even describe my feelings towards this hotel. My husband and I just arrived and will be staying through the weekend. He is a platinum rewards member with IHG hotels and we have spent THOUSANDS of dollars with this chain. This is the first time we used our reward points and we booked a king size bed only to get here and find out they stuck us in a crappy room with two queen beds with a view if a dug up parking lot. Wow. So much for customer loyalty. I will be changing my loyalty program to a hotel brand that actually takes care of its guests when it's time to cash in for the thousands of dollars you spent. Not a happy customer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LCoop407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

I was very disappointed to read your review about the hotel, and would like to offer my sincerest apologies that you were unhappy.
When we received your reservation it was for a standard room and there was no notation that you wanted a room with a king sized bed.
As Brenden let you know when checking in, had we had such a room available we would have been happy to change your reservation.
While I can see your disappointment not getting a king bed I am concerned that you did not like your room at the hotel, as we have received very positive feedback from the vast majority of our guests regarding their accommodations.
As I let you know the parking lot you referred to is in fact an old building that is being restored and the site for a new luxury condominium project.
We value all of our guests and in particular appreciate the loyalty of our IHG Rewards members. It is our standard practice to try and upgrade all of our Platinum Members but unfortunately due to the size of the hotel we are limited with the number of upgraded rooms available.
On closing, I would again like to offer my sincerest apologies.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although the street looks a little run down as you drive in, the hotel was a wonderful surprise. Clean and modern with very friendly staff. Room was adequate size for a city hotel and very modern and clean. Our only problem was that we were close to the elevators so it was noisy until about 4am with revellers returning from their Saturday night fun. Breakfast was buffet or a la carte. Good selection and friendly service there too. Walking across to King Street then downtown was less scary than walking down Meeting Street. We had no idea North King Street had so much to offer! Will definitely stay here again, but will request a room away from the elevator.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing a review following your recent visit.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and next time we will ensure you have a quieter room.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Being that this was the first time my husband and I had been to Charleston, and my sister and brother-in-law had not been there in a very long time, I searched for a hotel downtown and near the Historic District. By doing this we were able to get around with ease and not have to drive far to visit the attractions downtown.
The Hotel itself had a nice décor, and the prices were very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and willing to answer any questions, that we had. Parking at the hotel was never a problem while we were there. Breakfast was included with enough choices to choose from.
I would be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.
Although disappointed we didn't score five stars it looks like you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Charleston Marriott
#35 of 61 in Charleston
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $173 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing