We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying here. The rooms were very clean and attractive. The entire staff was very helpful and accommodating, especially Brendon, Nicole, Terrell and I believe his name is AJ. The location is great because it is within walking distance to both King Street and Market Street where you can do plenty of shopping and dining out. I will definitely be staying here again on the next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent visit.
Our staff strives to provide the highest level of guest service and I am delighted you took the time to mention Brendan, Nicole, Terrell and AJ.
I am also pleased that you found our location convenient to King St. and the Market area downtown.
We hope to welcome you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 714 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I had our first trip to Charleston, S.C. just two weeks ago and had a wonderful stay in the Holiday Inn in the downtown area. The rooms were clean and well appointed and our beds were very comfortable. The staff was very accomodating. Everything was within walking distance. There is a lot of new construction going on right now but the noise never bothered us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainejeanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I vacationed in Charleston the week of June 15-22, 2013. The staff of Holiday Inn were the BEST!!!!!
We were welcomed by the wonderful valet. This was wonderful after traveling 800 miles from Arkansas. Tammy and Brendon checked us in and made us feel so welcome to the hotel and Charleston. Our room was beautiful:) The bed was so comfortable. The room was clean and we had plenty of towels. The ammenities were wonderful. One night we forgot some things in our car and Terrell was nice enough to retrieve them for us. Thank you for making us feel comfortable during our stay in Charleston. We can't wait till next summer for another visit to your hotel. Have a wonderful year:)
Angie Adams

Room Tip: Great views of the Arthur Ravenel Jr Bridge!!! No loud noise in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Ms. Adams,
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown.
I have shared your kind comments with the staff in particular, Brendan, Tammy and Terrell.
We try to ensure everyone has a memorable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel stay clean rooms and staff was very accommodating especially Nicole at the front desk. We walk around downtown people throughout downtown are very friendly with diverse background it really made me feel at home. We visit Fort Summer it is a must see National Monument. The only downsize is the building across the street need to demolished. Overall great location, great hotel, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room with even numbers better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent trip to Charleston.
I have passed on your kind words to Nicole and she is thrilled that her dedication to her job has been recognized by one of our valued guests.
Regarding the building across the street, I am delighted to say that demolition work began late last week and we are all excited that in due course the building will be restored..
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from staying at this hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms were clean and staff was excellent! Pool and workout room were great, too. Will definitely stay here again. We walked to all the great shopping and dining in the historic area!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your comments following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and your trip to Charleston.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great new addition to the downtown Charleston market!! I have been looking forward to the hotel opening since 2012 and finally had a chance to experience it first hand. The staff is very accommodating and our room had a great view of downtown and the Cooper River Bridge. The rooms are very spacious and have all of the amenities needed and more. The King Room is one not to be missed! I now have my favorite location to be in when I visit one of the most special cities on the East Coast.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth floor and above have great views, but the rooms on the second floor next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutOfTheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your great review following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and glad it was worth the wait.
We can't wait to welcome you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a nice new Holiday Inn on Meeting St. that is very close to several great restaurants and bars on the up and coming north end of King St. Also just a quick pedicab ride to the famous "city market" and "the historic battery" area in this wonderful southern city !! The staff is very helpful and has the right attitude (attitude to me is everything in the service industry.) Go enjoy this little gem in Charleston !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

I am very pleased you found the hotel's location so convenient to the fine restaurants and abundance of watering holes on Upper King. As you pointed out the area surrounding the hotel is certainly the up and coming entertainment district in Downtown Charleston.
It also pleased me to read that you received great service while staying at the hotel. Great service is something we all aim to provide on a daily basis and I'm glad we made your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip, and thank you for the great review.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,886 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $122 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing