We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, accomodations and staff”
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
hollywood, florida
14
Reviewed February 26, 2006

The staff (Chuck, Pam and Gary) were fantastic! The rooms are 2 story suites, with a bedroom on one level and kitchen and sitting room with pull out bed on the other level. More than my husband and I needed but the price was great and the location excellent. Why spend the extra money for a "fancy" name place, save it to spend on the top notch restuarants and shopping. We'd definately return again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 394 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2005

This inn was recently renovated into apt. style rooms with bedrooms upstairs and kitchen / living areas on a lower level, in most units. They have very large bathrooms; some with jacuzzi tubs. If you go, try to get a room with an outside balcony. You'll get all the sounds and smells of the city and a view of the beautiful new Ravenell Brige. The staff was wonderful, especially the front desk and housekeeping. However, I would resist the time share presentation unless you have several hours to give up. The inn is perfectly located for virtually everything: restaurants (our favorite - SNOB abbreviated for Slightly North of Broad), Shopping, the waterfront, old churches / cemetaries, historic sites and... well, you get the picture. The only downside to this historic inn is parking. Expect to fork over $10 per day. However, a small price to pay for one of my favorite cities in the world.

5  Thank ronjohn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2005

Having just returned from Charleston and having some of our wedding party terribly inconvenienced at the Church Street Inn, it was interesting to note that a visitor in May had experienced the same thing! Our party, with contract in hand and with confirmation numbers, was told upon arrival that there weren't any rooms. When the inn's confirmation numbers were presented, they were informed that confirmation numbers weren't provided by the Church Street Inn. The staff were rude and demonstrated no attempt to locate other lodging. Apparently, this is standard fare for this place. Buyer beware! Later, we learned that the Church Street Inn is a time-share. There are plenty of other nice places in Charleston without subjecting yourself to inconvenience and lack of southern hospitality.

Stayed: November 2005
10  Thank RWMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2005

We just returned from a trip to Charleston, Savannah and the Georgia Isles and my husband said that I hit a homerun with the Church Street Inn. I can't say enough about the great the location. We could see the City Market from our window. The furnishings were rich although there were a few problems. Our shower curtain rod was broken and some of the fabric on the furniture was worn through to the stuffing but for $125 a night (weekday) it was fabulous. If you want a pool and room service, stay somewhere else, but if you want a place like home just steps from the best shopping and restaurants, stay at the Church Street Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank verypickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, TN
15
Reviewed October 23, 2005

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Especially Charles. Very nice room layout. Not typical hotel room. Loved the two-level design. Great having 1-1/2 baths and full kitchen. Very convenient location. Open the shutters and look down on Church Street. We heard that the time-share salesmen might bother you. We were never approached. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2005

no phone , no pool , no pets. this is a charming inn with magnificent rooms accentuated with floor to ceiling windows and feahter beds. it is located in the heart of the market district with easy walking access to the whole city. the staff is friendly, gary in particular, and the place is clean. but that's as far as it goes. there are no ammenities, period. no pool, no bar, no restaurant, no room service, and no on site parking. in fact the only service provided was the insistant sales pitch to buy one of their time shares which we found annoying and contempuous. despite all this we were having a wonderful time as most of these services are avialable outside the hotel with in easy walking distance. so it was easy to pick up a paper on our morning stroll to breakfast. fortunately it wasn't raining. my main beef was midday they began taking up the floor of the room across the way and it sounded like 5 men with sledge hammers were breaking the walls down to our room. upon registering a complaint at the front dest i was told it was next door at the sunglass hut and there was nothing they could do about it. upon a second complaint, as the noise was unbearable, i was told that this was in error and the person behind the desk who told me this didn't know what she was doing. this thrilled me to no end. i was told they should be through by 8pm. 5 hours of hell to endure at this rate is unconsciousable. as we checked out the next day, not very rested i might add, this same lying lady repeated her "not us nothing we can do" about the noise it's them next door in the sun glass hut fantasy. she did generously waive the parking fee! it was a wonderful vacation spoiled. i feel cheated, and shall not return.

Stayed: October 2005
9  Thank Bbqman3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Surry, Virginia
13
Reviewed September 27, 2005

The Church Street Inn was wonderful! The staff, from front desk to cleaning, were helpful and cheerful. They were never too busy to answer questions or to talk with our 4 year old. We travel to Charleston at least once a year and have been looking for a place that feels like home. We don't need to look any further. We have found it at the Church Street Inn. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 62 in Charleston
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range: $164 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing