We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, TN
15
Reviewed October 23, 2005

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Especially Charles. Very nice room layout. Not typical hotel room. Loved the two-level design. Great having 1-1/2 baths and full kitchen. Very convenient location. Open the shutters and look down on Church Street. We heard that the time-share salesmen might bother you. We were never approached. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 386 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2005

no phone , no pool , no pets. this is a charming inn with magnificent rooms accentuated with floor to ceiling windows and feahter beds. it is located in the heart of the market district with easy walking access to the whole city. the staff is friendly, gary in particular, and the place is clean. but that's as far as it goes. there are no ammenities, period. no pool, no bar, no restaurant, no room service, and no on site parking. in fact the only service provided was the insistant sales pitch to buy one of their time shares which we found annoying and contempuous. despite all this we were having a wonderful time as most of these services are avialable outside the hotel with in easy walking distance. so it was easy to pick up a paper on our morning stroll to breakfast. fortunately it wasn't raining. my main beef was midday they began taking up the floor of the room across the way and it sounded like 5 men with sledge hammers were breaking the walls down to our room. upon registering a complaint at the front dest i was told it was next door at the sunglass hut and there was nothing they could do about it. upon a second complaint, as the noise was unbearable, i was told that this was in error and the person behind the desk who told me this didn't know what she was doing. this thrilled me to no end. i was told they should be through by 8pm. 5 hours of hell to endure at this rate is unconsciousable. as we checked out the next day, not very rested i might add, this same lying lady repeated her "not us nothing we can do" about the noise it's them next door in the sun glass hut fantasy. she did generously waive the parking fee! it was a wonderful vacation spoiled. i feel cheated, and shall not return.

Stayed: October 2005
9  Thank Bbqman3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Surry, Virginia
13
Reviewed September 27, 2005

The Church Street Inn was wonderful! The staff, from front desk to cleaning, were helpful and cheerful. They were never too busy to answer questions or to talk with our 4 year old. We travel to Charleston at least once a year and have been looking for a place that feels like home. We don't need to look any further. We have found it at the Church Street Inn. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
113
Reviewed May 29, 2005

We booked our room several weeks ago and even confirmed it a few days before our arrival. Upon our attempt to check-in, we were told that our room was not available yet and to check back later. When we came back we were told that they did not have a room available for us at all - even though it had been prepaid and confirmed. The front desk clerk seemed irritated with us and our unwillingness to leave quickly and then offered us "the model room". However, if we agreed to take that we would need to check out early so their sales staff could have it back. No thanks! After getting the run around a few more minutes we were offered a smaller room at a less quality establishment. We thankfully found a room at another hotel on our own at the last minute but will never try this one again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
East Northport, NY
11
Reviewed April 28, 2005

I had a problem with the Postal Service regarding a piece of luggage that was left at home and mailed to the Inn. Chuck and the rest of the front desk staff were extremely helpful and patient and made an uncomfortable situation more bearable. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. (Thanks, Chuck!)

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2005

We stayed at the Church Street Inn on the 30th of December 2004. My in-laws were visiting from Seattle and it was their 39th anniversary. All of us were very impressed with the hotel, rooms, furnishings, and staff! It was just beautiful and in an awesome location. Charles Merry was super!! Quite an asset to the hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolinaGirl528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, Ohio
113
Reviewed December 28, 2004

We visit Charleston every year and have stayed at many hotels. I can honestly say this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in. My husband teases me about being a hotel snob. I have certain standards that I want met. Well, The Church Street Inn not only met my high standards, but actually exceeded them. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We had the best views of Charleston you could ask for. Everything was clean, spacious and well done. All the amenities of a 5 star hotel were here. The staff was exceptionally accomodating. In particular, Chuck was terrific. He made us feel welcome and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. I can't say enough about what a terrific job he did! They offer tips on where to eat and even give coupons for area restaurants. When we return in May, The Church Street Inn is the only place we will be staying. I want to thank everyone at the hotel for making our Christmas vacation exceptional! We owe you a big round of applause. I did notice that some reviews were less than favorable. I'm not sure how anyone could say this was a less than perfect hotel. Maybe they were having a bad day when they wrote the review. Again, I can't recommend this Inn enough. You'll have a wonderful vacation.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,019 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range: $132 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing