We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great destination - Wonderful staff”
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great destination - Wonderful staff”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited Charleston in late November 2013. The location of the property was fantastic - could walk absolutely everywhere. We rented a vehicle for a couple of days just to explore a little further, and the nearby parking garage worked well. We had a one bedroom suite - very comfortable with lovely furnishings. But the absolute best part was the staff - they were all so very friendly, helpful and accommodating it made the stay outstanding. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    89
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
82
158
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Church Street Inn was in a wonderful location but as you can see by our photo, 4 adults in our small room was not ideal. Our bedroom was upstairs, and our adult sons had to sleep on the sofa "bed" downstairs in the small living room. After one night of no sleep due to the pitiful mattress and the springs poking them in the back, we drove to Wal-Mart to purchase a queen size air mattress. So for the rest of the 6 days they slept on the floor on the air mattress. Even sitting on the couch during the day was not very comfortable and when we first arrived I had to have the maid service sweep the living room floor since it was not very clean. Also, the only shower was in our upstairs bathroom which made it challenging for 4 adults to get ready in the mornings. I chose not to voice my complaints to the staff since I did not want my sons to feel embarrassed. On a positive note, the staff was very helpful and made sure we had clean towels daily and spruced up our room when we requested. The Church street Inn is in an ideal location, very close to the restaurants and open markets. We walked to many quaint shops and even had a wonderful pub called Tommy Condons right across the street. We loved Charleston, SC and plan to return in the future. One thing this has taught us is that if it says will sleep 2 to 4, what it really means is will sleep 2 comfortably. In researching other inns in the area, I was shocked to learn that Church Street Inn was about the only one that did not offer either a complimentary breakfast or wine and cheese for the guests.

Room Tip: If the resort says the room sleeps 2 to 4 persons, what you should realize is they really mean is sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is ideally located for the main attractions in Charleston. Rooms were very spacious, service was excellent.
However we didnt quite understand why there is a mandatory valet parking service? The parking they use is a public one right next to the hotel and the price you pay is the same. If you add the tip, it is even more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I researched a bunch of properties before deciding to book the Church Street Inn through Hotels.com. Most of the other properties with suites or condos were much more expensive and not as centrally located. This is definitely the best value for your money in Charleston.
However, do not expect a five-star experience. The property is a time-share where most people come in for a full week from Sunday to Sunday. The units are nicely furnished but nothing special. It's more like staying over at a friend's house than staying at a plush resort.
The Church Street Inn is located on a side street right opposite the Market. You can walk to King Street in one direction and to all of the restaurants and bars on East Bay in the other direction. I have a gimpy knee and cannot walk to far without it bothering me, and I was able to walk everywhere without any problems (except for tours that were further afield).
The unit we had was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The only issue we had was that the fridge was not working. This was not a problem for us as we were only keeping soft drinks in the fridge and used the ice machine to keep things cool.
The staff were exceptional. All of them were very friendly and helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Church Street in to our friends and family.
We will stay again next time we are in Charleston!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I exchanged thru interval to get a 1 bedroom unit. I called in advance to get information about the bed configuration and they could not give it to me. My reservation said room 215 but I was assigned to 217 upon arrival. This made me believe that due to my later arrival I got a room with 2 double beds upstairs. I was told the "owner" sometimes give units to Interval but that usually only 1 or 2 units out of the 31 are exchanged as most owners use their units.

This unit had not been remodeled. It was okay but after taking their sales tour, I do know that the remodeled units are nicer. The remodeled unit has granite counter tops in the kitchen and bath. Stainless steel appliances and a better kitchen layout. Even though it is a galley, the stove and refrigerator are turned in the old units and make some drawer unable to open. I had to force my hand into the utensil drawer and pull everything out and put it on the counter.
Remodeled bathrooms are tiled. Corner wall surfaces were damaged in my unit and in the remodeled unit protective modeling was installed. Most of this is cosmetic and just makes it look nicer. Overall, the unit was comfortable. Primary seating is a 3 seat sofa. 4th person would have to sit at a table chair. In our unit, we had 2, both of which had ripped fabric backs. I did report this and front desk acted amazed but they were not replaced.

We were here Sunday-Sunday. Our major room clean would have been on Wednesday. The maids stop every day and ask if you need anything. They traded out towels on Wednesday and took trash as asked(we cooked daily). They were all very nice.

The lobby area is nice with some seating and a coffee area to the side. Coffee is provided up to 11 am. They sell coffee for the room at 50 cents per bag. Not sure how much that makes but it is a nice option to have. There are several nice grocery stores on Meeting and East Bay Streets (Harris Teeter and Bi-Lo).

This unit had 1 1/2 baths, the sofa bed downstairs and 2 double beds upstairs with a balcony that opens to Market Street. I slept downstairs on the sofa rather than on the sofa bed as I didn't find the bed to be comfortable when opened up. This would have been an issue if more of us were staying. I did hear noise on the street from time to time but you would have to be a light sleeper to be bothered by it. All rooms with odd # face Market Street. Even numbers face the courtyard. There is a fountain and a few tables in the courtyard.

Parking can be valet or self park for the same price which is $18 per day. The garage is located at the end of the block and around the corner, approximately 1 long city block away. I chose to self park and could always find a spot on the first floor but I also used my car every day as we have family in the area and were going out every day. They give you a card to use for parking access. If you go on the sales presentation, they will cover your parking for the week. They ask for 2 hours and it is done as a group and will take at least 2 hours. They run 3-4 groups per day. The concierge also gave us a carriage tour in addition to the parking for the sales presentation and she got the tickets a day before the presentation so we could take the carriage tour the day we wanted.

Overall a very nice timeshare, some units are worn. I don't believe if you are exchanging you will get the nicest units. The units are small but adequate for space since I don't think you would spend a lot of time in the unit.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face Market Street which is a major tourist street. In summer months it would be noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

In Charleston, it's all about location! The Church Street Inn fits the bill perfectly & you can park your car, & forget about it until you are ready to leave. It's right across from the city market and Tommy Condon's Irish Pub-what could be better?? We had a great time & loved the condo. When you enter the front door (we were in #206), the master bedroom suite is on the first floor & you have to go upstairs to the kitchen, living room, & dining room. The photos led us to believe that it would be the other way around. This might cause some problems for someone who is handicapped. There is an elevator that will take you up to your condo. Our check-in went smoothly & we were able to each pay our share on our credit cards at that time so it was nice they would divide that up for us. We didn't wish to attend the time-share demonstration & decided to just park our car ourselves in the garage around the corner after unloading. No pressure to listen to the time-share talk.

We loved the roominess of the condo-it had everything we needed in the kitchen & bathrooms, toiletries & all. The refrigerator & stove are full sized with a dishwasher & garbage disposal. The icemaker didn't work but we didn't need to use it, just reported it to the desk at our check-out. We slept on the sofa sleeper & the mattress was thin so that you could feel the springs inside. For the subsequent nights, we just covered the mattress with a couple of the extra blankets in the closets & had no problems.

I am recommending this "hotel" to all my friends! It is a home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NUHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited Charleston for the first time in decades. We joined another couple in our first stay at the Church Street Inn. What a wonderful surprise! Our spacious suite appeared to be freshly decorated with plenty of room for the four of us. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The court yard was perfect for an afternoon glass of wine. Located adjacent to the city market area, we could see the shoppers from our windows. Did I mention restaurants? Too many in the immediate area to mention. A great place to stay in a wonderful city! We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,734 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Property: Church Street Inn
Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing