We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DAMAGE TO OUR MINIVAN AFTER VALET PARKING”
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DAMAGE TO OUR MINIVAN AFTER VALET PARKING”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Church Street Inn. After initially parking in the nearby garage ($20/day) ourselves, we used the valet service twice - once to sightsee, once leaving town. When we arrived home, we noticed a yellow scrape of paint along the driver side passenger door. Apparent to us it was from scraping a yellow pole in the garage. From parking the car ourselves, we know the garage is very tight. I contacted Church Street Inn, no help there. The lady I spoke with said there was no damage upon our leaving our car with the valet service (they do an inspection), but also said surveillance cameras in the garage do not show the car hitting anything. I have tried to contact the garage personnel myself. I find it strange that they would go through hours of surveillance footage, but not return a phone call. The damage is not extensive (a little dent, I think we'll be able to get the yellow paint off), but it is very disappointing that responsibility was not taken for this.

There are comparable places to stay in Charleston, next time we will try one of them. We have learned to 1) park our car ourselves if at all possible and 2) inspect our car immediately after it is valet parked.

The room was OK, it needed a more thorough cleaning (walls beside the sink and baseboards were grimey, smudges on the wall, etc.) We had the problem another guest referred to with the TV, my husband hit a wrong button and we had to call the front desk to get a TV signal again. The shower faucet handle came loose after we turned the water on and we were about to call the front desk when we figured how to stick it back on and shut the water off. Housekeeping is only twice a week. The furnishings are dark and heavy, not to my taste. The location of the Church Street Inn is great. Wish they served breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    91
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
83
159
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Candler, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a great time while in Charleston. The entire staff was friendly. We encountered people in sales and other areas during our visit. Even if they were just walking through the property or dealing with us directly or not, they were friendly and helpful..

Room Tip: 228 was very nice. Two bedrooms and baths. Close to Atrium entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy48999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The location is unreal. Parking is 15 for valet and the garage is close so the wait is short. I read the few 1 star reviews reviews because I wondered why, and all but one is from 4-8 years ago when the place was being renovated. Those renovations have paid off now. If you are staying somewhere else, call on the way to town to see if they have an empty room. Ask for a renovated room and on short notice I bet the price is a deal compared to your booked hotel. The multi bedroom rooms can sleep 5-6 with ease.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlestonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 days at the resort as a birthday/anniversary mini-vacation. This resort is in the middle of everything! We left our car in the garage and walked everywhere. We stayed in a unit that was 2 stories. Downstairs was a very nice kitchen, a half bath and living room/dining room. Upstairs was the spacious master suite. It had a king bed (very comfy), a hugh bathroom with a jacuzzi, and a balcony that overlooked the market. From the outside you would never know there was a balcony - it was that well hidden.

The staff, especially Chuck, were wonderful. The lobby floor was unique with its brick flooring and design. The lobby is sort of an open design and since this Inn is only 2 stories we used the staircase instead of the elevator. Between the staircase and elevator is a beautiful fountain and out the back door was a wonderful courtyard with fountain.

I know they have been doing renovations to the property for the past few years but you can tell there is some wear and tear. I have heard that some of the units that have been renovated are very nice. Our unit, while very nice with amenities, showed signs of wear and tear. We were told it had been renovated in the past 2 years. We also noticed in our unit that the water pressure was very low.

All in all we liked the property and would recommend it to anyone. It does have protential to be a very posh resort if they would be more attentive to the maintance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjtravel1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The wife and I just finished our week-long stay at The Church Street Inn and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. The location is just perfect......we walked everywhere we went in the historic district and it's just a 1/2 block walk to the daily bazaar on Market St. We had a one-bedroom unit (#206) that included a bedroom, 2 baths, living room and a full kitchen on two floors. There were 2 big HDTVs and a blue ray DVD player too! I'm not 100% sure but we think all the units were similar to ours. It was clean, quiet, the staff was great and the queen bed and pillows very comfortable. A city parking garage is around the corner and it's $18 a day unless you listen to a Festiva timeshare sales pitch in which case they will pay your parking. There are dozens of restaruants within a 10 minute walk and we've never spent time in a city with so many small art galleries if that's your interest. We especially enjoyed our tours of historic Charleston houses and the Drayton Hall plantation. There was no fitness center or pool but you really don't expect those in a very urban hotel and we got plenty of exercise walking the picturesque streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knothead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Church Street Inn could be, and should be, a high quality property. It has potential and an excellent location. After reading several Trip Advisor reviews, we were very clear when making our reservation that we wanted a recently renovated unit. We were assured the unit they had reserved for us was renovated in every way "except for the carpeting on the staircase".

This was not even close to reality. Our unit was in very poor condition. Upon complaining at the front desk, we were told that no options were available. After unpacking, we received a call inviting us to look at another unit. It was much better so we packed, moved and unpacked again. This unit was very nice and had, in fact, been renovated.

The renovations, however, left something to be desired... the tub faucet was installed incorrectly and will likely break off soon, the hair dryer was falling off the wall, the bathroom door hook had already fallen off, etc. There is absolutely no space in the bathroom to place any personal items except for the cabinet under the sink that had the toilet plunger stored in it.

The units themselves are spacious with a small living area and kitchen, as well as a half-bath on the first floor. The bedroom and full bath are upstairs. It's really nice to have the space and separate living/sleeping areas. The stairs are very steep.

Yonnie in Housekeeping was very customer focused, and was evidently instrumental in getting us moved to a nicer unit. Sadly, she was about the only one we came in contact with who appeared to be customer oriented. (We were told that our initial unit is on the list for a full renovation starting next month so we felt misled in the first place).

Although our second unit was nice, the hassle we encountered at check-in, and the lack of customer focus will make us look elsewhere should we make a return trip to the area.

Room Tip: Insist on a fully and recently renovated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the most difficult evaluation I have ever made. This little boutique inn has the potential to be perfect. It is perfect as to location for anyone who wants to "do Charleston". Virtually everything is within walking distance and it could provide the perfect respite after a hard day of food and art and artifacts and churches and parks. The staff is friendly and gives you a warm welcome when you enter the door. There is a wonderful little courtyard just out the back door. As you enter the elevator for the ride to the top floor, it is also the 2nd floor, you will notice the glass back giving a view of a neat little fountain and then a nice little view of the staircase and landing. Very attractive.There are only 28 units of which 10 face onto the courtyard; the rest have a street view. On a tour we saw a perfectly appointed unit with proper colonial colors and furnishings and nice appliances in the kitchen. However, our unit, while physically the same as the "tour unit", had worn and badly abused woodwork and worn and unattractive paint. The microwave in the kitchen had two large cracks, one in the door and one in the control unit. None of the cabinet doors closed properly and sagged and banged as they were used. There were pieces of pizza (or something) between the stove and cabinet from a previous tenant. A used sponge was sitting on the kitchen sink which had probably been used to clean a bathroom since it appeared to have body hair caught in the abrasive side. The bathroom walls had an apparently newer paint job of bile green which was also unintentionally but liberally splashed on the ceiling and baseboards but failed to cover the not completely removed wall paper. There was accumulated "stuff" behind the bathroom door when it was closed. We felt we must disinfect all surfaces on which we might place food or toiletries. Other than that the unit had an old, but comfortable, couch and a small dining table with two chairs and a couple of HDTVs. Up a flight of stairs is the bedroom and bath. The bed was quite comfortable and we had a nice view overlooking Church Street. We enjoyed watching the people on the street from the floor to ceiling windows in both the living room and the bedroom. There is ample storage space for clothing and luggage. This review is not intended to dissuade anyone from coming to the Church Street Inn but to describe the situation as it existed for us. Had our unit been properly cleaned and functional I would have said that it couldn't be improved upon. For us the positives out weighed the negatives. Would I stay here again? Yes I would. It is the perfect location.

Room Tip: We were in Unit 201. Units 212, 214,216,218,220,222,224,228 and 229,230,231 overlook the courtyard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ezzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Property: Church Street Inn
Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing