We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE of Unit 203!”
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEWARE of Unit 203!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this property in unit 203. Prior to our arrival, I called to make sure this room would be mold free and renovated, because I'm allergic to mold. Matt assured me not to worry he had us in a really nice room. Apparently he has no clue what nice is. The Bedroom had a hole in the wall and the alarm clock did not work. The bathroom mirror backing was coming off, there was mold around the base of the door frame and the hinges were rusty. The green paint in the bathroom didn't even come up to the woodwork making it look like a child had painted it. The tub surround had holes in it. The floors were scuffed. Dishwasher was not flush with the cabinets. Lighting was very poor and one light in the living room had the knob broke off, so you could not use it. The closet door was broken that my husband fixed twice. I hate to see what the other rooms looked like if this was considered nice. What a DUMP! Matt told me later that this hotel was 75% renovated, but I got the other 25%. I guess booking this one year in advance still didn't get me into a nice room unless they save these for Interval exchange customers and to think Festiva left 2 notes asking us to look at buying a timeshare. I will never book an exchange with them again!

Room Tip: Not Unit 203, possibly another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie_J_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    89
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
82
158
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was a little apprehensive about saying here based on some of the mixed reviews. My husband and I are in Charleston for 7 days and are thrilled with our location. We have walked absolutely everywhere. The room itself is great. Split level, downstairs has a mini kitchen/living area. Upstairs is a good sized king bedroom with a huge bathtub and balcony. My only complaint would be of the view...or the lack of. A charming courtyard is in the middle of the hotel and the staff is very friendly. Based on priced I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngpuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent situation in downtown Charleston. Very spacious, clean and well maintained. Friendly staff and good valet parking service. Queen-size not king-size bed and blinds not curtains I.e. not very dark in early morning. No restaurant but nearby diners and restaurants etc and the room/apartment has its own kitchen facilities. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The is one of the best locations in Charleston. Once they are done with the Renovations it will be lovely, not all the rooms are beautiful. They are functional and the bed is very comfortable. But the location in downtown makes walking to everything strictly a pleasure

Room Tip: ask for a fully renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The lovely church street inn located in the center of beautiful historic downtown Charleston,SC is a can't miss experience! Inn is just steps from open market shops, fine dinning and the fascinating architecture of the historic old city! The inn is beautifully maintained, clean, clean, clean, lovely suites overlooking a charming courtyard! A friendly, helpful staff who wear a smile and greet with pleasantries. Had an exquisite stay and will return! Thank you, Church Street Inn. A pleased guest from central PA.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaetjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited CHS before, but stayed in a hotel. My husband & I needed a place to sleep the night before our rental began in Kiawah Island for PGA tournament. Wow were we surprised. We creeped slowly in the car following GPS directions and were so surprised at this unassuming Inn. If you didn't know the address you'd drive right by. Someone at front desk buzzed us in, we had a very quick check-in. She advised us where to park inexpensively. When I told her about our Kiawah plans she advised we get on the road early due to traffic. She suggested a place nearby that was still serving food since it was 10.30pm. When we got to our room we were shocked at how large the accommodations were - it was a duplex. Upstairs, off the bedroom was a balcony overlooking Market Street. Downstairs, TV, sitting area and kitchen. It was like staying at someone's townhouse. Only comment would be bathroom and kitchen needs remodeling but all was clean. Would highly recommend staying here and it's in the nexus of Charleston. Close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for a week during the PGA and had a great time. You can't beat the location...right in the heart of historic downtown Charleston. Market Street is right out the front door and King Street and East Bay are only a few blocks away. The rooms were very quiet; we never heard our neighbors or the thunderstorms that rolled through. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and professional. The hotel room we were in does need a little TLC (not much). Overall a great trip and definitely plan on staying at the Church Street Inn on our next visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: Our room over the courtyard was very quiet. Five guests to a 1 BR suite is a little cramped but doa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,737 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Property: Church Street Inn
Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing