We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
grand rapids mi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Enjoyed our 3 nights at the Inn. So-o-o close to attractions. Did attend the sales meeting to receive our parking for free. And previous reviews are correct, Tyrone is the best.
Very happy we made the decision to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhGrandRapidsMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    90
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
83
159
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay for a visit to Charleston. The staff are personable and go out of their way to make sure that you have everything you need. The location is also excellent, as you are right across from the Market and can walk to just about anywhere you need to go. My wife and I loved our stay, and will be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncgolfman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

What a wonderful property to get away for a romantic anniversary getaway!! Warm friendly greeting at the front desk while Tyrone tended to our luggage and parking the car. Tyron was always available to help and such a great smile!. Then there was Becky. She talked with us in lengthand steered us to the best wine and oyster bars in town. Mercatos for the best jazz groups and wonderful food. Socials for an interesting night of wine tastings with the most knowledgable bartender I have ever encountered. All in all one of the best vacations we have ever had!!

Room Tip: Request the newely renovated rooms. And one with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A hot water heater had burst and several rooms were flooded. They were running several noisy blowers to dry out the rooms and hallway.They moved the timeshare operation to the courtyard and the early morning conversations were noisy. We stayed in a one bedroom suite facing the courtyard. The bed was smaller than a queensize with king size coverings which kept sliding off during the night. After three sleepless nights we were ready to check out but we had traded our timeshare and were staying for a week. First night we cooked in the upstairs kitchen the entire upstairs filled with smoke, as the oven vents did nothing to filter the cooking. The windows can't be opened to let out the smoke. The upstairs smelled like hamburger for several days! The location was very convenient. The concierge and front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We found this hotel on Bookit.com and feel that we definitely lucked out. The room was gorgeous and very clean. We were impressed with all the amenities that came with the room and the full kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful and couldn't have asked for a better location. We were walking distance to everything and never needed to use our car to go anywhere. We liked being able to walk around and enjoy the food and specialty drinks at surrounding bars and restaurants without having to worry about driving. We will definitely be back and will always plan to stay here everytime we visit Charelston. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greeknurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in Charleston! It is right in the heart of downtown, steps away from the open air market and plenty of fine restaurants and bars. It is a short walk to the waterfront park and other local attractions.

The room was very unique and decorated in true Charleston charm. The room we stayed in had 2 levels. The bottom floor had a complete kitchen, bathroom, couch, and TV. The loft (top floor) had a beautiful high King bed, closet and another bathroom.

The staff was very nice. The view from our room overlooked a courtyard. I really enjoyed it! I'm from this area and have stayed in many hotels in downtown Charleston, this is on the top of my list!

Room Tip: We called the hotel directly and they offered a great price of $199/ night (which is great consideri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreeSpiritAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The site could not be more perfect. It's located right next to the market downtown with lots of restaurants and shops close by. Car parking typically requires valet parking due to congested streets. This is a time share property that also rents rooms like a regular hotel. I've stayed there twice and will always make it my first preference in Charleston. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and the rooms are all suites on the second floor with third floor bedrooms. Rooms on the street side also have balconies. The only negative is that there is no food or even snacks or drinks available so you have to go about a block to a convenience store to buy those and keep them in the full kitchen refrigerator.

Room Tip: If you enjoy people watching ask for a room on the street side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryKMonroe_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Property: Church Street Inn
Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing