We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed March 18, 2006

My husband had planned a birthday trip for me to New Orleans. As you can guess that didn't quite work out so at the last minute he found and booked a three night stay at Two Meeting Street Inn. He couldn't of done better.
We were greeted with a smile and felt comfortable right off. Our room wasn't the biggest but we weren't looking for that. Every morning we found the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was filling and so was High tea. We really only eat dinner away from the Inn and we found a few good resturants within walking distance from Battery Park and the Inn.
We enjoyed to quite and also enjoyed the company of a few guests that sat with us on the great porch.
I want to go back again and soon. Our stay refreshed out batteries (as we have five children) This is the place to be for charm and warmth and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    12
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
183
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrison , Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2005

The location is perfect. One of the best porches for rocking and watching the bay in the distance. A beautiful picture perfect B&B that every tourist in Charleston drives by to see.

Service was very good, friendly and helpful with every need. Rooms are very nice though not quite up to the John Rutledge Inn in my opinion. They were very clean and well kept. Only rabbit ear local TV channels (no internet in room) for those hooked on modern electronics. Bring your cell phone (on silent) for outside world contact.

Breakfast was Continental-Plus and Afternoon Tea an assortment of desserts and cheeses.....both adequate.

No credit cards... Fairly easy parking on street a few feet away.

But if a great porch and location are what you are looking for, there is no better I have found.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chloe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

We stayed here for three nights in April. The location is great, the house is beautiful, but the beds felt like they dated back to the Civil War era. On our second night there, we jammed an inflatable mattress into our small room so we could get a good night's sleep. After we complained about the mattress, we received a letter saying no one else had ever had a problem with the beds.

Breakfast was usually a muffin or coffee cake with coffee and tea.

There was no sign of the innkeepers when we were there.

Save your money for the Peninsula Grill.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MonaJohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2005

My husband had booked this supposedly posh place as a surprise, so I wanted SO much to like it.
Where to begin...
The female hostesses/staff was nice and polite.
Lots of mahogany, china and silver and a hushed atmosphere.
Breakfast was there, homemade and all, just not to our liking (scones and jam).
Upon arrival we were met (not greeted) by the male host/staffer? who was rude and snooty and remained that way whenever we encountered him for the extent of our three day stay. I swear that we are middle aged, quiet, dress well, and speak softly, and we racked our brains to figure out why were given this treatment, to no avail.
The room itself was nice looking. Mahogany, china, silver.... But the comfort level dated back to the time the house was built. The room was cold. The heater made a racket to the extent that if we wanted a conversation without shouting it had to be turned off. The gas fireplace managed to give off no heat whatsoever.
The bathroom was old and quaint and featured a bathtub with a shower head. To shower (if you weren't intent on splashing the entire room) you had to squat in the tub AND put up with temperatures that were either scalding hot or icecold, no middle ground). No other room was available.
Charleston is charming and so were all other people, whom we met there.
For our next visit, we will stay at the Holiday Inn, which everybody is raving about, save a LOT of money and be a hop, skip and jump from the sights and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank deliberate_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2005

I deceided to extended my stay in Charleston another day and having toured the wonderful homes around The Battery decided that it would be great to get away from the hussle and bussle by the market and spend a night here.

I wasn't dissapointed.

The House was beautiful and has a great history behind it. My partner and I stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the top floor. It was perfect and as comfortable as can be. It had a small TV (no cable) but who goes on vacation to watch TV? The room itself was attractively decorated in blue and white toile with matching accents and nic-naks. The bed was very comfy and altogether we were very well looked after.

We dined at McCrady's a short walking distance away in the evening that was superb and woke in the morning to a wonderful smell of home made muffins and coffee coming from the kitchen.

I would definitely recommend Two Meeting Street for anyone who wants a nice peaceful quiet stay. I believe all the rooms were occupied while I was there - but I only ever saw or heard people at breakfast time... no noise, no kids - heaven!

One catch, no biggie - cash or checks only (no C/Cards).

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2004

Ask my wife where she wanted to honeymoon, and without hesitation she'd say 2 Meeting Street Inn. Fortunately, there was one room available (#9) during Spoleto. (Lucky timing?) The house, the gardens, the convenient location, the staff....everything was perfect. It was a honeymooners' dream come true. Our anniversary is coming up and we're going back to 2 Meeting Street to celebrate again. Innkeepers Pete and Jean, and all the staff make it a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 6, 2004

I read the review of the solo traveler staying in room number 7, The Robert's Room and couldn't disagree more. I stayed in the same room, by myself and had a wonderful time. I loved the victorian tub and was not inconvenienced by the detached bath. Furthermore, the way the doors to the room and bathroom open, shield you from view as you pass from one room to the other. The room is small, but it's charming and romantic, comfortable and quiet. The tea service was warm and friendly and I found the company at breakfast delightful. The staff made me feel very special. Myself and three girlfriends plan to return in late August 2004. True, no elevator, but it's a home, not a hotel and the staircase is beautiful. Yes, it is expensive but in my humble opinion, worth it.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Meeting Street Inn

Property: Two Meeting Street Inn
Address: 2 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-2706
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1890. In the center of the historic district overlooking prestigious South Battery, this turreted Queen Anne was built as a wedding gift from a father to his daughter. It is one of the area's oldest bed & breakfast inns, offering Southern hospitality and a romantic heritage. Tiffany stained-glass windows, crystal chandeliers and English oak woodwork are accented by fresh flowers, Oriental rugs and family heirlooms. Traditional antiques furnish the elegant guest bedrooms. Enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast in the courtyard or oval dining room. The famous arched piazza features rockers that invite relaxation while gazing beyond the century-old live oaks to the harbor. Low country afternoon tea is served with sherry and regional delicacies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Meeting Street Hotel Charleston
2 Meeting Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing