We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Two Meeting Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$229
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$236
$197
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$139
$129
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
236
13
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
13
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbattery parkpeach iced teab bcrab quichewrap around porchsouthern hospitalitylarge porchbreakfast and afternoon teathe claw foot tubroof linethird floorstepping back in timeevening activitiestea servicebed and breakfastexpensive roomrestaurant reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 261 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Think about staying with your very favorite relative and how much you enjoy seeing them and staying in their beautiful home. That's what you get when you stay at Two Meeting Street! The location is unsurpassed relaxation and beauty. This place is filled with the history of what was in the late 17th and early 18th century the premier city in the colonies, with the view of Fort Sumpter, and a house that speaks of style and grace.

Jean and Pete Spell and their daughter Karen have made this inn a place to which we look forward every year, and year after year we come back to experience the best that Charleston has to offer. Every single room is appointed with wonderful furniture, decorations that make you feel special, and colors that relax you every minute. At tea time every day (4:30) and at breakfast, you get real home-made delicacies and can meet people from around the globe who come to this inn year after year.

Don't miss Two Meeting Street!!!!

Room Tip: Call very early when planning a trip.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCDSOONER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

There is no end of superlatives for Two Meeting Street Inn. It has to be Charleston's finest inn, and is absolutely the finest these experienced B&Bers have stayed at anywhere. The location is ideal -- at the foot of Meeting Street in the historic residential district across from Battery Park overlooking Charleston harbor and Fort Sumter, and only a few easily walked mansion-lined blocks to downtown with its outstanding restaurants and fascinating historical buildings dating to the Revolutionary period. The inn itself is stunning -- gorgeous in every detail, lovingly restored, beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained. The service is perfect -- the entire staff so much reflects that renowned Southern hospitality that we find it impossible to single out anyone for our extra thanks. They're all terrific, extremely gracious and very helpful with restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. A delicious full breakfast of distinctive regional favorites is served in the lovely dining room or outside on the porch or in a private corner of the stunning azalea-filled garden. Afternoon tea (or wine) is served on the porch, and shouldn't be missed for its "sweet and savory" treats. Rooms on the first and second floors are suitably elegant and a must for your special occasion. We were on an extended and expensive vacation trip, however, and throughly enjoyed the somewhat less grand Canton Room on the third floor. If you're going to Charleston, one of the nation's great cities, we highly recommend staying at Two Meeting Street Inn, one of the nation's great inns.

Room Tip: Choose by rates. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracie-pals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

A seaside retreat. The staff worked seemlessly to accomodate this demanding Cali girl and her Rhodesian mate. Some requests are expected like bikes to tour the town since a car is a nuisance but to have bubbles in the bath and savory snacks at midnight are unexpected yet both were received and catered to elegantly. Thanks so much to the staff for their professional and personal approach. Peach nectar and sausage wellington for breakfast is the best thing in the south. The green anoles in the garden keep the bugs down and the entertainment up. Don't miss this one.

Room Tip: They are all great. We stayed in 3 for our 4 d sty
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shunt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Gorgeous southern B&B on The Battery. Great location for easy access to Market, King and East Bay streets. You feel very special once inside the gates as others try to peek in on the beautiful lawn and porch. The ladies host you as if you are family, helping you plan a perfect stay and serving a wonderful breakfast and light afternoon tea (with sherry available all day.) Rooms are charming but small with only queen beds and only one room with two beds. Street parking is all that is available which is fairly easy to manage in this area of town. Have wanted to stay here for 15 years and enjoyed my stay a great deal. One concern that remains is that credit cards are not accepted, so with so many wonderful B&Bs in town, I will likely choose elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaE-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at TMSI the night of our wedding and the day after. I had wanted to take a few pictures getting ready and the standard picture of my wedding dress on a hanger, but the staff was adamently against any photography. I thought that was a bit ridiculous, but I played by the rules.

The room was nice, but the bathroom only had a tub and removable shower head- no real
stand up shower. This made bathing
difficult as you had to sit in the tub
to rinse off.

My other gripe was that I had heard their cider was amazing but when I asked for some I was informed they were out. For the price we were paying- roughly $450/night- I would think the least they could do was keep the cider stocked or offer to go out and buy more.

Overall, I was very disappointed with the Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GloryBergmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2meetst, Owner at Two Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Thank you for sharing experiences from your stay in December 2010. Although four months have passed, we always welcome guests comments. Our innkeepers certainly remember the honeymoon surprise arranged by your husband, who is an acquaintance of one of our staff. We were able to recall with clarity his selection of this particular room and our discussion with him about our wedding policy (we do not host weddings or wedding photography). As an aside, we also remember his heroic actions in 2007 when he rescued a small child from drowning.

Your future husband was quite excited about arranging this surprise for you. On Saturday evening, the innkeepers prepared a silver tray with a selection of sweets, savories and cider which was taken to your room for your relaxation. The staff assisted you while your future husband chatted with another innkeeper until you departed together for the evening.

When potential guests inquire about a reservation, we are candid and open about our room amenities. At the time of your stay four months ago, your private bathroom did feature an antique ball and claw tub with a shower attachment. Your future husband was aware of this feature from our phone conversation as well as the description on our website. We are pleased that at the end of February a standing shower was added.

Again, thank you for your comments. Congratulations and we hope both of you are enjoying your first year together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews