We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour of Charleston!”

Charleston in a Nutshell
Ranked #23 of 230 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Charleston in a Nutshell is the ideal walking tour for sightseers who have a limited amount of time yet want to visit the "must-see" places. Learn about the city's history, architecture, and culture with historian Jeff Zimmerman. Jeff has been a licensed guide since 1997 and is an eighth generation carolinian. You will also go off the beaten path to seldom seen places that are off limits to bus and carriage tours.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Jeff is a great tour guide. He is extremely knowledgeable about the history, architecture and current culture of Charleston. Also has a great sense of humor. We are looking forward to our next trip to Charleston to do another tour with him.

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Wish it was a bit warmer! Thank you so much for your business and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 217 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Jeff of Charleston in a Nutshell gave us a fantastic walking tour! He is so knowledgeable and passionate about Charleston, the history and the architecture! We have been to Charleston many times but we learned a lot from Jeff. He can adapt a tour to your specific interests. You can't get closer to history than walking in front of the homes or going into the church with Jeff telling you the history. We enjoyed every minute. The walking is well paced and the time flew by! I highly recommend this especially to those who think they have been to Charleston too often to try it!

Thank PassLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Charleston in a Nutshell historic private walking tour with Jeff was by far the most enjoyable sightseeing experience we have ever had. We had a relaxed two-hour walk, but every moment was filled with information that left us feeling that we had a great feel for the history of the city as well as its personality today. I would highly recommend Jeff's tours to anyone visiting Charleston!

Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSUMarley, Owner at Charleston in a Nutshell, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your visit and very nice meeting you. Perhaps you could visit in Spring some day, the Flowers are quite glorious this time of year. Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Charleston in a Nutshell with Jeff was outstanding! We did it on our first evening in Charleston. It set the stage for the rest of our stay. Informative, intertaining, and educational. The guide did a fantastic job of relaying the history and importance of Chaleston. Great way to start our stay. Highly recommended.

Thank Laureen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed a Civil War tour with Jeff last weekend. He combines an intriguing historical dialogue with archival pictures. He welcomes questions and has many amusing anecdotes about the times and the people. The price is beyond reasonable for the service,

Thank cleats126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston in a Nutshell also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston in a Nutshell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing