We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grocery is a Winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grocery

The Grocery
Ranked #68 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Evoking memories of the small-town grocery, executive chef and owner Kevin Johnson has created a gathering place of warmth and familiarity, with a menu based on seasonal ingredients available from local and regional farmers and fishermen he knows and has worked with for many years. The Grocery’s kitchen is stocked with house-made charcuterie and fresh, local fish and seafood, and the restaurant accommodates an in-house canning program to preserve fresh produce for the menu. An extensive cocktail and wine list are available as is craft beer on tap, and a wood-burning oven heightens the cordial atmosphere in the former furniture warehouse.
St Louis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grocery is a Winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visiting the area and The Grocery was our choice for the first night. Staff reaction was a bit slow at first, but they recovered nicely. Room is bright and a bit noisy, but really liked the feel. Energy. Might have been the three bachelorette parties. Kidding!
If you are a bread person, as is my wife, the sourdough here is marvelous. Ordered two starters, a spinach salad and their version of a charcuterie plate. Both very good. My wife ordered seared scallops and I, a halibut entre. Again, well prepared and presented. We ordered cauliflower as a side, and it was delicious and, huge.

Very happy with our choice of The Grocery. I wish the menu were jus a bit more broad. Not a big complaint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BG_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    144
    49
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kitchy Atmosphere, Great Food and Drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Really cool interior. Sat at the bar and our bar babe was full of great suggestions on eats and drinks! A must stop!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bartender”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Enjoy yourself and stop in for a bite at the bar. Great fun and the food was unique. Worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksontheLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
359 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“very enoyable brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We enjoyed our sunday brunch here.

For drink, I recommend to try "death by mimosa" which consists of orange"cello" and proseco.

I had the grean poach egg on grit cake and my friend had the sausage sandwich. Both were very favorful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reservation flubbed, expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Made a reservation on Open Table before noon for same day. Earliest available was 9:30 pm. Such good reviews we decided to hold out for a late dinner. Received email confirmation of reservation. Arrived at restaurant on time to be informed they had no record of reservation. They accomodated us and seated us but waiter was obviously not thrilled about it. Ordered one "bite" as soon as we sat, followed by two "bites" as apps, and one "bite" and a "plate" for entrees. Despite a request to bring the food in a certain order, all showed up at the table at once, crowding the table with large plates with little food on them. While two of the "bites" were unique, creative and inventive, the others were nothing special. Wood roasted corainder carrots were the highlight. All were so small that the $13-$20 price tags were frankly shocking. Ordered dessert because we were still hungry. Got back to our hotel to notice an email from Open table indicating the restaurant canceled our reservation. Email was after 8 pm for a 9:30 pm reservation. All told, our dinner was $200 after tip and a bottle of wine. For that, we got a rushed uninspired meal that left us hungry. On the positive side, we got a new idea for vegetable preparation at home from the carrot dish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GuinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grocery also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing