We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of The Grocery

The Grocery
Ranked #71 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Evoking memories of the small-town grocery, executive chef and owner Kevin Johnson has created a gathering place of warmth and familiarity, with a menu based on seasonal ingredients available from local and regional farmers and fishermen he knows and has worked with for many years. The Grocery’s kitchen is stocked with house-made charcuterie and fresh, local fish and seafood, and the restaurant accommodates an in-house canning program to preserve fresh produce for the menu. An extensive cocktail and wine list are available as is craft beer on tap, and a wood-burning oven heightens the cordial atmosphere in the former furniture warehouse.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The first time I tried the grocery, I was somewhat impressed. On my most recent trip, however, I was very pleased with the food, customer service, and wine selection! If the menu were more like the restaurant week menu all the time, I think the restaurant would have a better and more unique flair. Worth a visit, especially for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    145
    49
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food but average service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

2 visits in last 30 days. One was during restaurant week so menu was limited and it was really busy. The food is incredibly good. Lots of great appetizers and smaller plates for sharing. As pointed out in other reviews, portions for these are quite small but price points are appropriate. The large platters for sharing are great: The whole fish (snapper) and bone-in ribeye were both delicious.
While the food is great, the service is not. During both visits bartenders appear annoyed with drink orders and the wait staff is not as attentive as I expect (empty water glasses etc.). Staff is however knowledgable about the menu and made good wine recommendations.
I would recommend for the food - hopefully the service will improve.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SC_Dawg1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brunch at The Grocery, Charleston, SC.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found this to be an excellent find. The dishes are all somewhat different. And all apparently quite delicious. Mimosas and a Bloody Mary delighted or table. Prices were quiet reasonable and the ambience open and casual. Too bad they are not open for lunch, except Sunday brunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciscoiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The atmosphere was better than expected but loud the food...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Was ok.. Went for resteraunt week The salad we had a very bitter taste was discribed as bib lettice and it was not. The beef short rib while good was a very small portion. The desert a BIG SMORE was very small and did not resemble a smore at all. I am not sure I would go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabinownerwanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Was orginally heading the ordinary- no room at bar and the hostess suggested going to the Grocery across the street. Food was excellent, Drinks were great. Would recommend this restaurant. We will be back!



Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigD93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grocery also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing