We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a whole lot to it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Charleston South
Ranked #56 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a whole lot to it”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Exactly what you expect from a Motel 6...no frills whatsoever. Our room was clean, and looked like it had been recently updated. The A/C took a long time to cool down a small room, and the mattress was awful. Both my wife and I woke up with our backs hurting. The motel is not in the best part of town, but not the worst. The lady at the front desk and other staff were very friendly. The really only bad experience we had was someone booming their rap music in their car and screaming in the parking lot at 1:30 in the morning. Other than that, though, we didn't really spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landfall74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    37
    26
    51
See reviews for
37
41
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Of course there is not much to be expected at that rate. This place is really the most basic basic basic. A chair with plastic cover, plastic table, plastic bath. Didn't look very clean and all with hair from different pre-sleepers. A bit disgusting.
And why does a non-smoking room smells that terribly smoky ?!?!
Location is right off the highway behind a McDonalds. As several reviewers already wrote, do request a room facing away the highway. It is quieter then.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magyar_lany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Pine Mountain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

This is the second time I have chosen this motel. I want a clean and inexpensive room when traveling on business and this location fits the bill. Ask for (no, demand) a room on the side opposite the freeway entrance ramp. The staff is cordial, my room met my standards of cleanliness (spotless bathroom). I asked for a no-smoking room, and it seemed to meet the bill. SO...for a reasonably clean, decent room for the night, this motel met my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnoakcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

I often stay at Motel 6 when I travel, and never understood why people dislike it so much: Motel 6s offer great value and comfortable, clean accommodations, at least from my experiences. This one, however, may be an exception. The location was questionable...at best! There was some kind of domestic altercation in the room next to us and the cops were brought in a 5 am in the morning: it caused a lot of noise. Also, there was a hit and run incident on Savannah Hwy right outside the motel, according to the local news, the night that we stayed there, so it was kind of a shady neighborhood. I recommend trying out the other Motel 6 in Charleston instead.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarboriusJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2009

In Aug '08 myself and some friends went to charleston for a vacation............motel6 took really good care of us and we really enjoyed our stay.......the management and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home thanks to the staff for that southern hospitality!!!! Be back this coming summer!! Lisa

  • Liked — the personality of the staff and management
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coopdeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

For $45, I guess I shouldn't have expected much. Cigarette butts under the bed, smelly room, tiny shower and bathroom, and noise throughout the night. First and hopefully last experience with a one star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sid645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The Charleston Motel 6 on Savannah Highway was a pleasant place to lay my head after a grueling day on the road. It’s not the Ritz, but it was very clean and comfortable, if a bit old, and the staff was very friendly and efficient.

Actually, only the carpet showed its age (it wasn’t thin, exactly, but it had definitely seen many feet walk over it), but it was still clean, and I had no qualms about walking over it in my bare feet. The bed was clean and very comfortable, and the bathroom was very, very clean and had been fitted with a newer shower.

The motel’s exterior was kept free of litter, and I felt very safe sitting outside my room and enjoying the lovely Charleston evening.

The motel is rather tricky to get into, and it’s sort of hidden behind McDonald’s, but the location is good. McDonald’s is right next door, there is a shopping mall a couple of blocks away, and a strip mall with a Piggly Wiggly is a quick walk across a parking lot.

I enjoyed my one night stay at the Charleston Motel 6 and will be happy to call it home for a night or two should I ever return to the city (and I plan to – Charleston is amazing!).

  • Liked — I felt very safe.
  • Disliked — no complaints here!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poetrypartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites North Charleston
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston South

Property: Motel 6 Charleston South
Address: 2058 Savannah Hwy, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston South 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Charleston South is within 10 miles of Charleston Airport, The Citadel, Charleston Airforce Base, so much more. Wi-Fi available in all modern guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open May - September and a coin laundry also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Motel Six Charleston
Charleston Motel Six
Charleston Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing