We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You get what you pay for, obviously.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Charleston South
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, obviously.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's only $43.99 a night plus tax which comes out to around $52. They charge a few dollars extra for 24 hour access to the wireless internet connection.

I was here two nights, and the traffic noise of I-526/Highway 17 directly across from the motel didn't even bother me half as much as the constant noise the other people staying here made. Only saying that to say this: people staying here have absolutely no respect for other people at all. The front desk staff was apologetic and said they were "probably construction workers." I doubt it. Just people with nothing better to do than get drunk and keep everyone else up all night.

The single room I was in was very basic. A bed, dresser, TV, bedside table, desk and chair. No mini refrigerator which I expected there to be, but I got over it. I liked the design of their shower, kind of a rounded shape to it. The mattress on the bed was average quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiw0000000092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Charleston South, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear tiw0000000092
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced as a result of the noisy conditions you encountered. The issues you experienced are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    29
    25
    46
See reviews for
33
35
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Basic is quite acceptable but unclean is not acceptable. Couldn't stand barefoot on carpet. Under beds not been hoovered for some time. Dirty fridge surround, beds not properly made and no tea and coffee making facilities. Reception staff very friendly and shower nice and powerful but the musty smell in room made for uneasy sleeping. Stayed last fortnight in superb motels but will not be staying in another Motel 6 in the future. Wi if was extra!

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more and stay somewhere with facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This seemed like a nice motel and location and price were good. However, this was the smallest room I have ever seen for a double. For both beds, you could only get out on 1 side! We had to ask for towels and wash cloths, soap, and glasses every day, Not sure they did anything except make the bed. Don't expect a lot at Motel 6, but basic cleaning and restocking should be normal. We stayed 2 nites and moved on. Was ok, but not great. Think service could use a boost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
514 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nothing fancy, just the basic bed and loo... If you don't need much, just a cheap place to crash for the night while on the road, this is an OK place to do so. A bit of road noise from the highway, but overall clean and safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is consistent with the majority of my motel 6 experiences. Fairly clean, central location, GREAT price and easy access in and out, not to mention the energy efficient business that all motel 6s currently are a part of. Oh, and welcoming to our friendly and well behaved pit bull. What more could we ask for?!? Everything you need and nothing you don't. Don't expect some fancy hotel or even a holiday inn. This is a motel 6. Get with it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is ok for the price we paid,,only thing is ,,,,dont try to get ICE from the machines....2 ice machines and both nights ,,both where empty,,when we question the staff ,,their response was ,,"there's nothing we can do about it..people fill up coolers and leave them empty"...well my suggestion is,,,put up a sign that said dont fill coolers!!I have seen this sign placed at other hotels!!!other than this,,,its is a older hotel but it was clean and quiet both nights...

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs if possible or you will have head lights shinning i n your eyes all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you are in Charleston, keep away from this roach motel. Room smelled like smoke and bathroon was moldy. Sleep in your car if there is no other rooms in town...................................................

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Platon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Charleston South, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Platon63 - We apologize for your unpleasant stay and for the odor and cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay. These issues are not consistent with our quality standards at Motel 6. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
3.7 mi away
Value Place Leeds
Value Place Leeds
#47 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#29 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston South

Property: Motel 6 Charleston South
Address: 2058 Savannah Hwy, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston South 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Charleston South is within 10 miles of Charleston Airport, The Citadel, Charleston Airforce Base, so much more. Wi-Fi available in all modern guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open May - September and a coin laundry also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Motel Six Charleston
Charleston Motel 6
Charleston Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing