We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come here all the time! ”

Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe
Ranked #11 of 37 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Come here all the time! ”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I love this place. The ice cream is delicious and the portions are just huge. The food is really tasty too and cheap! Such a cute place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Erica715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    50
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
344 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Enormous portions of deliciousness”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

WARNING: If you order a small cone, you'll get more than a cup of ice cream. The waffle cone looks like it holds about a pint. Ye Old Ice Cream isn't cheap, but you get A LOT of ice cream for your money. There are lots of interesting flavors to choose from. The pecan praline was especially yummy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The BLT here is amazing. Haven't had a bad item here yet. The ice cream, of course is great,but the food they serve is delicious and fairly priced. The staff is very friendly. We go to the Ye Old where a DAWGS fans runs it and he runs a great establishment. Love the decor!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcsno1fn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Java Chocolate Chunk”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

What more can I say! I love a mocha chip or coffee flavor...This beat them both.

Get a cup...a cone will melt too quickly ;)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suntan_Toez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
242 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Big portions and tasty!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I needed a break from the SC heat, so I stopped in to Ye Ole Fashioned for some ice cream. The portions were extremely generous and you definitely get your money's worth. It was nice to have some ice cream with a fresh taste and no sight of freezer burn.

I'm sorry to say that I did not get to try any of their food, just the ice cream. I saw something about a BLT with 10 pieces of bacon. That sounds like it would go great with some ice cream on the side. I really need to go back to this place. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing