We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to take the kids for lunch!”

Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe
Ranked #12 of 37 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mt Pleasant
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great to take the kids for lunch!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I like this place because the food is big and cheap! It's a menu found in your own kitchen, so no surprises when you get your food! Great burgers-really, really, really big. Love their fries and oh the ice cream!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessehly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    51
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best BLT i've had and really great Ice Cream”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I went there not once, but twice to enjoy the BLT...it is a double decker so be warned! Though it isn't gigantic and filled me up just fine. I think it is the way they so neatly put the shredded lettuce, tomato, bacon and mayo all together on 4 piece of bread that makes it so delicious. I also had their butter pecan ice cream on a waffle cone which also was of course delicious.

The first time I went was through the drive-thru and the second time was inside. It is very quaint inside, not very large...there is also some outdoor seating, but it was quite hot out.

Overall it was by far the best BLT I have had, simple and sweet and it is a great place for other foods as well. My mother has a burger, which she enjoyed and my dad had the Philly Cheese Steak which he also liked, I would certainly pay a visit to it if you are in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamiePfef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Banana Splits big enough for two”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A lively crew dishes up generous scoops and delicious toppings for their Traditional banana splits, priced reasonably and worth every penny. They use Blue Bell ice cream, which I agree is the best ice cream in the country. My friend had the hot fudge sundae which she described as yummy and too big. Note that they use whipped topping, not whipped cream but it didn't bother me. Lots of other ice cream flavors. They also serve burgers, but I came for ice cream and left happy, though I couldn't finish my traditional banana split. My eyes were larger than my stomach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Flavors!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The nice thing about vacation is you can splurge and try 2 ice cream shops in one day. We went to both Wholly Cow and Ye Ole Fashioned today. If you like creamy ice cream then WC is better but YOF was packed full of flavor making it our personal favorite. You can't go wrong with either though so enjoy whichever is closer!

Helpful?
Thank JaJLMFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hooked for life!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have only eaten at this location of Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe, caecause it is centrally located to the places I frequent while visiting Charleston.. It is a must -stop every trip we take down there, Most recently, tried the sandwich combo- and whoa boy! the sandiwches were ginormous, and freshly made, super delicious. The ice cream has home made taste and super creamy. Any of the ice cream flavors that have add in stuff like fruits or nuts, etc are found abundantly in the serving - you dont have to hunt for a lone pecan, or ribbon of caramel. Added bonusm the cafe is open later on the weekends, so it saved us from having to resort to fast food drive thru after our annual tour of the Christmas lights on James Island.. Fast, courteous service, with excellent food and resonable prices and portions. Not to be missed for casual dining!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATW2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing