We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #252 of 947 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Craft pizza, craft beer and craft cocktails with a side of unique vibes.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fun ambiance, great staff and excellent menu for all! My husband has a gluten allergy so gluten free beer and pizza is always a treat. I love the house calzone.. so good and plenty for leftovers the next day. The portions are definitely plentiful, so no need for an app. unless you want to leave over stuffed and tired!

It was a little loud and full of kids when we went, but what can you expect for a Sunday night in a pizza place?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsFDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Mellow Mushroom. We always try to give our guests delicious food, quality service, and a fun atmosphere, so we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The gluten free pizzas are a great option for people with gluten allergies and for those who want to try something different. We recommend the Kosmic Karma or the Mellowterranean. We hope you come visit Mel and the gang again in Wonderland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We went on election night because they offered a free beer if an "I voted" sticker. They have tons of different beers and the pizza was great. It was busy because of the free beer but the staff did a good job. The area bars,etc have free valet parking in front of Al Di La next door. Use it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlestonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with us. We are so glad you decided to rock the vote and come visit Mellow Mushroom. We offer a wide variety of craft beers and when paired with a specialty pizza like the Mighty Meaty or the Kosmic Karma you really can't go wrong. We are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you throughout the busy period. We hope you have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The pizza is good. A small is 4 pieces, which was plenty to satisfy me. I got the Buffalo Chicken pizza and thought it was really good. My wife got the Holy Shiitake pizza and thought it was excellent. The prices are reasonable ($8-$14 for a small). They also have a good beer list. I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cutiger_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend and I love this place!!!! They even make a half and half pizza so we can each have the type of pizza we like in one pie. The staff is friendly and always accommodating. The decor is set in an old theatre and there are lots of TVs for the guys!!! The price is reasonable and the food is great. I go there often!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tammynates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great place for delicious salads, amazing pizza, and plenty of good drinks. Do not miss it. The one on King street is excellent as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank randi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

-Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant. We take great pride in providing excellent food and top notch customer service. Since you’re a fan of our drinks, you should check out our beer club (you can register to start on our Facebook page). We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing