We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for large parties with kids!”

La Tabella Italian Grill
Ranked #228 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Locally owned Italian restaurant specializing in house made pasta dishes, hand cut steaks and chops, and fresh seafood. Open for lunch serving deli sandwiches, salads, and lunch size pasta dishes. Sunday brunch features benedicts, omelots, traditional breakfast dishes, burgers and sandwiches, salads, and our house pasta dishes.
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for large parties with kids!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived into town late on a Friday night, and La Tabella was one of a very few places that would accept a reservation for our large party (10- 6 adults, 4 kids). We were seated in the back of the restaurant and we were completely comfortable! Our meals were delicious and the portions very reasonably sized. The next night we were debating where to go, and La Tabella was once again suggested- not only was the food so good but they were readily available to accomodate our large group again. My toddler was being quite fussy and our waitress happily heated up a cup of Easy Mac for me to settle him down, and that was so helpful and appreciated. We had the chance to speak to the owner on our second night there, and he was a delightful man! Very gracious and happy to speak with us. I can't wait to go back to Charleston and eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are regulars at La Tabella. We go there for lunch or dinner at least once a week. The food is always outstanding. You can pick anything on the menu and it is great tasting! I especially love the Ba Da Bing shrimp (sweet and spicy!) and my husband loves the mussels and chopped salad. We recently took all our children and their spouses and eight grandchildren there for lunch. Our server, Eve, was great; she had the tables all set up and everybody loved their meal. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Charleston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Atmosphere was nice and quiet. Food was good, portions good. My sister and I shared a plate. There was no fee for sharing and they did a nice job spliting into two plates, rather than hand us the plates. Not sure on price, since my brother-in-law paid the bill (what a nice bro-in-law) I would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent Faire”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were looking for someplace different to eat on James Island. Checked trip advisor and found La Tabella. It is hidden in the back corner of a small strip mall. We walked in and had a few doubts when we saw the chairs and tables. The waiter came right over and took our drink orders and asked if we had any questions. We ordered the fried calamari appetizer. When it came out he took the rest of the order. My sister in law asked if they charged for splitting an order and they didn't. The fried calamari was perfect. The dinners came out, they had eggplant parm and the skin was removed which gave a nice taste. I had the linguini with clams which was done nicely. We would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian on James Island!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great find on JI! If you want killer Italian on the island and tremendous service, go check these guys out! Our new clubhouse for sure! Try the Chicken Picatta or Eggplant Parm!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tabella Italian Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to La Tabella Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing