We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good...”

Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts
Ranked #2 of 20 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
170 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pretty good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was expecting doughnut nirvana, but was underwhelmed.

It was St. Patrick's day so they had some special flavours, but none interested me.

Decided on a glazed, raspberry glazed, and cinnamon twist. Haven't had a twist since probably my childhood! Most of the flavours I wanted to try weren't available that day.

Glazed was okay, nothing special. The raspberry had a good flavour and you could tell they use real raspberry in it. This was probably my fave out of the 3. The twist was good, but again nothing special. It was more for nostalgia that I liked it.

They're not that cheap. Just over $2 a donut. Might give them another shot if ever in Charleston so I could try some of their other flavours, but if you have some specific flavours you're going for it might be smart to call ahead first so you're not disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    70
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Locals, Average Doghnuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was pretty disappointed in the doghnuts. They just weren't very good, of course I'm biased since I'm all about KK (Krispy Kreme for those who've yet to be indoctrinated). The staff & locals were very friendly though. If you are keen to try it, go early because they don't make many & sale out quickly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMFLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“They will sell out of what you want”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

They NEED to make MORE of their doughnuts! I'm not saying this just because they are so good (which they are) but because I've been here several times and they sell out of the majority of their stuff by 11am on the weekend! On the weekend!!! Make more, sell more! Demand is high! Also, watch your credit card here. My girlfriend was charged 3 times for her $12 purchase!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really tasty fresh donuts, with a great variety. I tried the classic chocolate glazed and my mom tried the bacon maple. They had an eclectic mix for those who are feeling adventurous.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank skyllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Doughnut in Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have never had a bad doughnut in the place! Whenever I have company in town, I take them to breakfast here. The staff is great and super helpful. The doughnuts are both fresh and creatively flavored. You cannot go wrong with any choice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing