We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Excellent as Advertised!”
Review of The Macintosh

The Macintosh
Reserve with OpenTable
The Macintosh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ann Street
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As Excellent as Advertised!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

MacIntosh is a pleasure! Enjoyed the atmosphere. The wait staff were knowledgeable and personable, ie fun! The menu was innovative and each of our meals was excellent!

Helpful?
Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    172
    52
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good meal”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We dined on Sun night and found it to relatively quiet and very pleasant. In a very charming Charleston neighborhood, there is valet parking.
I had sea bass and a chick pea soup. Both were delicious. Nice wine list too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supercommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I am in the restaurant business so I tend to be a bit hard to please. I was in town for the food and wine festival. This place is amazing at everything. The service, the drinks, the food, the kind hostess at the end of the evening. Thanks Macintosh for doing what you do so well. It is a rare night that I can go out and have an all around great experience! Cheers to you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I just came in and sat at the bar, without ordering food. The drinks were excellent and competitive with other areas on North King.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashpav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lots of surprising extras”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We ate here our second night after having dined at FIG the previous night. When I mentioned to our server how beautiful the FIG seven vegetable salad was, the chef at MacIntosh sent out their version as a comp. It was very different, the vegetables mostly raw, but also beautiful. When the server missed my order for the bone marrow bread pudding, it was added as a comp as well. Tom's spinach salad was lovely with croutons that satisfied even the very fussy Tom since he hates the dried out cubes often presented. These were crisp on the outside but tender on the inside. I had the deckle which was delicious. Tom had the burger and truffled, pecorino fries. The service was great, food distinctive. The bone marrow bread pudding had the beefy flavor of Yorkshire pudding but very light, not custardy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Macintosh also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Macintosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing