We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give The Mac 4.5 stars if I could”
Review of The Macintosh

The Macintosh
Reserve with OpenTable
The Macintosh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ann Street
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I'd give The Mac 4.5 stars if I could”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We wandered in on a slow Wednesday night and received a warm, friendly welcome and an escort to a nice, big table. It felt we were off to a good start and so we were. Our waitperson was charming and very knowledgable about the food and drink, with a lovely unpretentious manner about her. Cocktails to start, they were strong and well made. Appetizers and entrees were delicious as was the wine.
We like the Macintosh because they really have the whole experience down: good service, fine cooking, beautiful relaxed atmosphere, a mix of people dining and enjoying themselves.
Highly recommended, The Mac was a highlight of our visit to Charleston.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    175
    52
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Natural decor and whole food ingredients”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Food is well done. Nice to try a few different appetizers. Cocktails are good and they have nice wine selection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodeats00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unreal food and Amazing ambiance!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for innovative twists on classic foods. I LOVED the ambiance and the service was incredible! I walked out of there with a happy belly and a good mood! Would eat there every day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank karinm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Late night a go -to”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

AS an integral part of the upper King scene in Charleston, the Macintosh is quite nice, if no longer cutting edge cool dark wood. These abound in the area...and to their credit, serve late night. Great hamburgers, specials are consistent even past 11 pm. Good bar serve with a nice pour and specialty cocktails .... Down side is the noise level: VERY difficult to entertain serious or adult ( gray hairs??) conversation after hours, and in a group of 8, nearly impossible.
Accommodating staff and reservations accepted, can handle larger groups. Patio dining in good weather very cozy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great ambience. High energy. Food was amazing, high quality ingredients, intriguing combinations and appealing presentation. Service was fantastic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Macintosh also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Macintosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing