We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rabbit here is unbelievable as is some of their pasta appetizers”
Review of The Macintosh

The Macintosh
Reserve with OpenTable
The Macintosh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ann Street
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The rabbit here is unbelievable as is some of their pasta appetizers”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I crave the rabbit and their pastas- as well as one of their ricotta salads. Their fries are also good (how can they be bad) as is their fried fish and chips. The steak that they recommend (i forget the name but they are always recommending it) is fine- I ate it but it's nothing to write home about. I wouldn't say this place is romantic because the bar scene is always lively and can be loud- and you are generally seated right next to it as the dining tables are right next to the bar- but it's a good place to be.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mare1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    173
    52
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good food! Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Delish! Loved the pork with the root veggies! Only complaint is a little salty. The wait staff very knowledgeable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathieshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We ate our way through Charleston moving from place to place based on recommendations from each previous restaurant. The chefs eat here. The back patio was charming and the foresight of overhead fans made the evening outside perfect. Every ingredient was fresh that day and the Amberjack fish was truly life changing. The bread pudding that started with cinnamon rolls from Wildflower Pastry was also a true delight. However, I will never forget my first southern martini... green olives stuffed with pimento cheese and bacon. Wow, it was fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melody m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New options for fine dining in Charleston”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The upper end of King Street continues to bustle with fine dining. At least 4 more restaurants are still under construction Macintosh presents superb dining and the very best in service. A number of local fish selections highlight the menu along with fresh local vegetables, all attractively served by super and attentive and knowledgable wait staff. Don't miss this new option in Charleston!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsD714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife had been there with 2 of my daughters and wanted me to go there during our recent visit. There were 3 of us there this night. I like different beers and she called a week before our arrival to see if they offered flights of beer. They said they did not but that we could ask the bartender we arrived. When we got there, the waiter approached me (before I said anything) and told me that when they heard I liked flights, they ordered a set just for me and that it was brand new. How excellent was that? The food was great. We had the gnudi, scallops and pork ravioli for apps. For dinner we had the deckle and a fish dinner. I loved everything. We passed the plates around and all of us loved every bite. Our waiter was great, we had fun and what else can you ask? Go here, you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rwishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Macintosh also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Macintosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing