We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting old theater with good shows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Street Theater

Dock Street Theater
Book In Advance
$20.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
Ranked #41 of 220 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting old theater with good shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

There are usually good productions at the dock street, but it has dreadful acoustics. Performing there, when you're on stage, it's like playing an instrument in a coat closet. This doesn't diminish the audience's enjoyment of a show, but be forewarned that it's a small theater. Worth a look, and the restaurants in the area are decent. Stop in for a pint at Tommy Condon's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    92
    14
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have went to the theater since I was little and I have always loved it! Excellent shows and a beautiful building!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good theatre in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Dock Street is a diamond in the rough. It does not always attract the very best of shows, but they are always above average, and the theatre itself is wonderful. There is not a bad seat in house, so you can get pretty involved with the show.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeTraveler843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am not one who is big in the arts but I must admit the general atmosphere of this place gives a certain feeling that makes even the worst play enjoyable. Here you get a true feeling of Charleston in all its glory and splendor. Will I be back? I already have tickets.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neilmcmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming, historic setting but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

On 6/14/14, I attended the last performance of the 2014 Spoleto Festival's presentation of "My Cousin Rachael." at the play was well directed and acted.The theater's beautifully restored to its earlier elegance, the acoustic were good but the seats were not comfortable. I think it is the price one pays for historical accuracy. That said I had to slouch during the performance in order for my aging back to stop talking to me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Theater also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dock Street Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing