We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, of course”

Dock Street Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
Ranked #42 of 235 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History, of course”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The theater is prettier outside than in, but it's all history and well loved by the locals. We saw a couple of plays there, and they were worth it, wholesome as we enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindaincharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    97
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great shows and atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've seen several shows and musicals here. There is not a bad seat in the house, although I personally prefer to sit in the balcony. The old historic style of the theater is beautiful and it is a great place to go see a show or musical!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSManna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Concert Venues”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We regularly attend the Spoleto Arts Festival chamber music concerts in the Dockstreet and the building itself is almost as much an attraction as the performances themselves. One of Charleston's most historic properties, the acoustics are perfect and there is not a bad seat in the theatre.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rag714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of my favorite venues”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Since it was refurbished it is great. During Spoleto attended daily performances between the Chamber Music concerts (which were all fabulous) to plays. A truly wonderful venue

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank smarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Never a bad seat definately a classic”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spoleto 2013 venue for chamber music first time certainly not the last. Everything one could ask for IMHO the balcony is the best position. very convenient location walking distance for most of the hotels lots of restaurants for before or after.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bristolroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Theater also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dock Street Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing