We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is everything the Positive reviews say!”

Sound of Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the sounds that define Charleston's musical history...from gospel to Gershwin. Each weekly live concert features music of the Civil War; light classics of the venerable St. Cecelia Society; the music of George Gershwin, who wrote "Porgy & Bess" during a summer in Charleston; gospel spirituals sung by slaves as they passed through the port of Charleston; and "Amazing Grace", the words of which were inspired in the composer, John Newton, while he worshipped in our host venue, Circular Congregational Church. Frommers Travel Guide says, "the best night out in Charleston...a must see performance. Visit our website or call the box office for concert dates and ticket information.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It is everything the Positive reviews say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great evening. Worth the money. Park in the bank lot next door for $7. Doors opened around 6:30ish. We loved it from start to finish. Leave the kids home. More for adults who will appreciate the various types of music. Acoustics were just fine. Seating is first come, but no bad seats. Loved audience singing. Amazing Grace ends the evening. Perfect night!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeeisready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    66
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
savman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, energetic show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stumbled on to this at the visitors center. The show was FANTASTIC! Very gifted performers, lots of energy, very informative. Not to be missed!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hasavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A total cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the narrator to the music, this show is a delight. The circular church is worth seeing in and of itself and the acoustics are fantastic. The music traces the history of Charleston and the performers are top notch.. Highly recommended for all ages!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sjstravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A repeat performance, a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

On an earlier trip to Charleston, my husband and I experienced "Sound of Charleston." When we brought our 5 adult children back to the area for a family vacation, this was an itinerary "must do." Of all the things we would have enjoyed more than once, this topped the list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AltaW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We happened to walk by the Circular Congregational Church and noticed the upcoming performance Fom Gospel to Gershwin. Such a wonderful way to spend our last night in Charleston. It was a musical history of Charleston with something for everyone. In addition to being treated to the performance of outstanding musicians, the unique setting of the circular church was an added bonus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaP579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sound of Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sound of Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing