We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Vacation Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath Welcome!  Front Entryway. Great room on left. Kitchen through hall. Main level bedroom to the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath
Welcome!  Front Entryway. Great room on left. Kitchen through hall. Main level bedroom to the right.
Front of house. Lots of parking. Large Circular Drive and additional parking on right.
Bench Swing on porch
The beautiful backyard
Open Dining to kitchen concept. Counter seating too.Gourmet Kitchen Sub Zero - Gas Range -and more.
Very Large Family Room - Fireplace, HDTV, Ceiling Fans. French doors to deck.
Fire Pit for chilly nights. Come visit year round.
Kayak to Patriots point from Backyard. This is a guest photo. Kayaks available for guest use.
Sullivans Island Beach is 6 miles away
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath. Door to upper deck.
Gorgeous sleek Marble Master Bath. Glass Shower plus Soaking Tub. Toilet Closet. Dual Vanities. Wow!
Main Level Queen Bedroom. Attached private tile and glassbathroom and walk-in shower. Avoids stairs.
Glassed shower ensuite bathroom for main level Queen bedroom. Toilet is out of photo to the right.
Upstairs Queen. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Doubles BR Upstairs.
Gorgeous soaking tub . There are 2 soaking tubs in house, one outside hot tub, and 3 glassed showers
Upstairs Bath shared by a Queen Bedroom and a Doubles Bedroom.
Doubles Room. Upstairs. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Queen BR Upstairs.
Wrap around decks back and front and up and down.
Deck and Grill views of Wando River.
Weber Grill.....calling all outdoor cooks !
Catch crabs off the dock. Crab pots and traps are provided.
Lush front yard landscaping. Large private property
Backyard ....moss covered Oaks hanging over tidal waters. Salt Marsh. This is the View on the right
Farmers Market ( seasonal ) Saturday DT Charleston and Tuesday in Mount Pleasant.
Sub Zero, Filtered Water, Gas Range and cooktop, Trash Compactor, Miele Dishwasher. Fully equipped.
Stained Glass in Kitchen windows.
Kitchen looking towards Small Den. Stained Glass. Seating for 4 at counter
Powder Room on Main Level. 3.5 baths in house.
Dining Room view. Looking across kitchen eating island.
Dining area
Details matter
Looking from Small Den towards the Great Room.
Looking from Small Den towards the Dining Area
Door against far wall leads to the Queen Level Bedroom and a Private Bathroom with Glass Shower
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.  Door to upper deck.
Ceiling fans everywhere. A southern style tradition
SUP in the wando.Paddled out by the Ravenel Bridge. Hope you spot dolphins ! SUP available for guest
Heron enjoying the views off our dock on Molasses Creek. Kayaks, SUP.  and Crab pots for guest use.
Kayaking in creeks behind house.
Fantastic bridge location......walk or bike on bridge. Hop over to Historic DT. Near everything!
Molasses Creek connects to the Wando River. High tide view -
Sunrise....Sunset....Sunrise....Sunset.....the beauty of  the marsh and water
Lots of Dolphins around in the waters.  Photo taken 2017...got lucky!
Can you spot the VERY pregnant deer?  We have a lot of wildlife around...but also note the privacy!
Geechie Seafood off Coleman Blvd. Fresh fish and shrimp in season.
Golf nearby
Wando River from Backyard.
Dock in backyard. Paddle fish or crab.
Backyard is a private peninsula waterfront with dock. Creek to the right / River to the left.
Evening Quiet . View to the left of very private backyard surrounded by marsh and water.
View of back showing expansive and private property.
Location is the red star in top of photo. Bridge into Charleston view
Stay and Play at Shem Creek. Pick up your fish and shrimp, or choose a restaurant.
Shem Creek and the fleet boats. The Palmetto state!
Wrap around porch. Lounge in front.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DMurray5
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Vacation Home”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had so much fun at this lovely home! The house was well-stocked and so clean. The beds were amazingly comfortable. The bathrooms were lovely. We loved the porch and big yard for coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Being on the waterway was more fun than beachfront. All six of us enjoyed the paddleboards and kayaks. Great location to access Isle of Palms and downtown Charleston. Great for early morning runs around the neighborhood as well. George and Laurie were great hosts and neighbors. We have wonderful memories that will last a lifetime. Hope to come again!

P.S. - pack some bug spray with DEET and citronella candles!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Big Chill House”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There were 9 of us girls from high school that stayed at The Big Chill. We've been doing this for 17 years at different rental homes and by far this was voted the best we have stayed at. From the Welcome letter when we arrived and the Fine Art on the walls and decorating, everything was first class. The bedding was comfortable, there were enough beds for all of us. High-end appliances and fixtures. Laurie and George were always available and quickly responded Whenever there were questions from booking to leaving, they were very accommodating. Everything was clean and fresh. I just can't say enough about how wonderful this weekend was for us because of the accommodations that they provided. Close to downtown Charleston with plenty of good restaurants right in Mount Pleasant. When looking for a home to stay near Charleston don't hesitate to book your time here. We would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebteacher
edgerton, mo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully furnished and comfortable home”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed here for four nights the end of July. We had nine of us, as our three grown children, and their spouses, and one grandchild met to vacation together. We had a wonderful stay! Mt. Pleasant has a quiet relaxing small town feel, attached to Charleston by the beautiful Arthur Ravenel bridge. We enjoyed the large comfortable porch and backyard with the hot tub and dock, where we used the crab traps and kayaks. We loved the view of ships and boats, and two of my family saw dolphins when they took the kayaks out to the main body of water. Sullivan's Island and the Isle of Palms weren't far for the beaches (20 min+/-) and Charleston was just across the bridge, (less than 10 min. away). Everything in the house was in excellent condition. It is beautifully furnished and there was plenty of room for all of us to cook, sleep and play inside and outside! George was very friendly and gave us a tour when we arrived and was very helpful when we needed to check in early. He was a big help with advice and information, as well.

While we weren't uncomfortable, some people may feel differently with the owners living above the garage. But we only saw them a couple of times during our stay. We did hear them walking around above the first floor bedroom when we were in the bed at night. But we didn't hear any other loud noises.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
This is truly an incredible property, and we are glad you appreciated it. Multigenerational families, and considerate adults really love this house. We always try to exceed expectations. In the winter, the hot tub gets more use than the kayaks! This is a great year round choice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal D
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Like a dream come true!”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time at The Big Chill House in Charleston! Laurie and George were great hosts and the home and surroundings were absolutely gorgeous! The house itself is beautifully decorated, well laid out, and it's obvious that the hosts had their guests comfort in mind. We also loved sitting outside and watching the cargo ships go by.

I look forward to my next trip to The Big Chill House and I fully recommend staying there to anyone traveling to the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Thank you Crystal. This property is designed to create an exceptional guest experience for a Charleston visit. By choosing this property, guests get the full LowCountry experience....waterfront, but a hop to downtown, and a short easy drive to the beach. This property is perfect for couples, and also families who are in town to explore, and relax, and enjoy a full getaway. For discerning renters who want a clean house, with extra amenities and style, we are the perfect choice ! Your kind words and review are appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trubrit56
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Attended a wedding just after Hurricane andrew had passed through, the house was perfect and the storms impact was not noticeable. Ideal location, comfortable and well equipped the owners are welcoming and helpful with local knowledge. Beautiful setting our privacy was respected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thank you for choosing our property. We want it to always be tip tip shape for everyone!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill B. B
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

So happy with this choice. It is appropriately named The Big Chill. Beautiful property and so easy to drive to historic Charleston. The owner and property manager were nice and easy to work with. I would highly recommend this property.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
We try to offer more than the typical rental. Thank you for enjoying our property. We think we have what a discerning visitor group is seeking. We appreciate the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty W
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bill Chill House was exactly as was advertised .. all good.”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our trip purpose was for 7 friends who had not seen each other for a number of years to reconnect and to see a city where none of us had visited. This house ended up being an excellent place for us to be comfortable and enjoy our girls' weekend. It is spacious with a great view out the back. Everything we needed was provided and was very clean. It is nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable. The information provided about the house was accurate and the owners were prompt at responding and in providing information we needed ahead of our arrival. They also had a good amount of information about the Charleston area available for our reference in the house. All 7 of us were very happy with the choice and would rent the property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house layout/size/amenities and its location.
Liked least: I felt the amount of direction that we were given on what we should/could not do was overkill.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2015
We do try to exceed expectations. Our goal is to offer the best two rental properties in the Charleston area. We think being Waterfront, and having Kayaks and Paddleboards, plus fishing and crabbing, is a plus that other houses don't have. And then there is also a Hot Tub. We hope all our guests are pleased. Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing