We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
French Quarter Inn
Nearby Hotels
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $428/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$208
$184
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$205
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,153)
Filter reviews
3,153 results
Traveler rating
2,858
238
42
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,858
238
42
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkpillow menuglass of champagnewine and cheesejelly beansport winedetox waterchampagne on arrivalcontinental breakfastturn down servicem msevening cookiesquichehappy hourwithin walking distanceearly eveningsouthern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
2,597 - 2,602 of 3,153 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife and I came to Charleston, SC, during Easter weekend 2010. Our last night there, we stayed at the French Quarter Inn. We would have liked to have stayed there all 3 nights, but it is quite pricey. However, upon checking in, we were treated like royalty. Valet parking was included; the valet asked if we needed the car again later that night, and I informed him that we did because we were going out to dinner. The car was ready promptly when we needed it. Champagne and ladyfingers were served at check in, afternoon tea was nice, and there was a help-yourself coffee bar available the whole time. The room was clean, inviting, and our bed was comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance to the main attractions in Charleston. It was nice to go out touring, and then have a place close enough where we could take a break, which we found ourselves doing a few times. There's a private terrace where you can sit and enjoy the fresh air without dealing with all the traffic and noise. That's actually where we enjoyed our afternoon tea!

Tristan, the hotel's restaurant, had high reviews from various sources, but we did not get a chance to dine there. They were serving Easter brunch the day we checked out, but we had reservations somewhere else. Maybe next time, as we would enjoy staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NourishingGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review. Your compliments of our hotel, staff, and amenities are greatly appreciated. Upon your next trip to Charleston we would be delighted to have you stay with us and we would be happy to make your reservations at Tristan. Chef Whiting at Tristan has created an incredible menu and the service is excellent. We know you would enjoy it. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I use Tripadvisor all the time and in the past they have always been right on. This time was not the case. The hotel is alright. The greeting was OK. The room was a bit disappointing. The bed was not comfortable, the bathroom was dangerous and the blow dryer on the wall was something from a cheap motel! The cocktail hour was nothing you would not get at the chain hotels and the breakfast a big let down. I will pay to have a nice breakfast it does not have to come complimentary. I was very disappointed and should have booked the hotel of my choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2010

We are very disappointed in ourselves for not living up to your expectations. But what disappoints us the most is that we weren’t made aware of your feelings before your departure so that we could have the opportunity to make up for our shortcomings. Our sincerest apologies that the French Quarter Inn was not the stay you envisioned when visiting Charleston. We do hope for your next trip to Charleston you choose to stay with us so that we have the chance to wow you. Again our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Loved our stay at the French Quarter Hotel. Centrally located, we could walk in every direction and find shops, galleries, restaurants, etc. The staff was attentive and efficient. Would recommend this wholeheartedly!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank CMStarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2010

Thank you for your compliments. Our location is a great asset and makes visiting Charleston so easy for our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I recently completed a 6 night stay at the FQI in celebration of our 40th wedding anniversary. We chose this hotel based on the rave reviews on TA and were not disappointed. No King rooms were available when I made the reservation, so I left a special request. When we checked in we were shown to a spacious King room and a bottle of champagne awaited us....a nice touch. We enjoyed all the amenities: candy, cold drinks, and coffee during the day, wine and cheese in the evening, nightly cookies and milk, and chocolates on the bed. Our room, and the hotel, was always spotlessly clean which is something of great importance to me personally, The location is great, you can walk to any attraction or restaurant in the HD. We always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The only suggestion I would make, is to expand the continental breakfast a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SXMGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2010

Congratulations on such as special anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us. We are glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer. Our goal is to provide excellent service and little extras to ensure an excellent experience. It’s always nice to know our guests enjoy them. Our continental breakfast expansion is currently in the works and we look forward to offering a few more items. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the French Quarter Inn for three nights in late September. The property is lovely; the location is perfect; and the staff was helpful and accomodating. The beds are extremely comfortable and the little extras (breakfast, turn down service with chocolates, wine and cheese, and most especially the cookies and milk) make a good experience even better. Charleston is a wonderful and walkable city and the French Quarter Inn is the perfect home base for your adventures! We're already talking about a return trip and we'd most definitely stay at FQI again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellyToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2010

It was our pleasure to have your join us for your stay in Charleston. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are ready and waiting for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews