We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located next to Market, clean, extremely quiet, nice room”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The French Quarter Inn has a wonderful location near the Market and the restaurants. The rooms were clean, the bathroom was huge, and the hotel was very quiet. We had an Executive king suite which included a computer and fax/printer. The rooms also had a fridge and safe. Just outside the room in the hall was a cart with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Drinks were also available in the lobby. The wine and cheese reception included several wines (merlot, cabernet, white zinfandel, pinot grigio, and chardonnay), cheeses (cheddar, swiss, pepper jack), crackers, and fruit. The complimentary breakfast included yogurt, fruit, bagels, pastries, juices, and coffee. The evening cookies and milk included 4 or 5 types of cookies.

The main negative was the price. We paid $349 for our room plus $17 for valet parking. The other negative was that the wireless was very slow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2010

We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn and that you enjoyed all of the amenities included. Our apologies you felt the price was high, we compare our rates daily to our Four Diamond competitors within Charleston to ensure our rates coincide. We will be sure to have our wireless company check our internet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,457 - 2,463 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

Had perfect Mother/Daughter stay. Perfect location, walk to everything easily. Room was large and bathroom spectacular - all exceded our expectations.
The amenities such as continental breakfast, wine/cheese reception and milk and cookies at night make this a memorable property and a great stay.
Property is immaculate and beautiful throughout.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highstandards1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2010

Exceeding each guest’s expectations is our daily goal. We are thrilled to know that we were successful in creating a great vacation experience for you. Thank you for your wonderful review. We await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Staying at this hotel helped make our time in Charleston exemplary. The accomodations, little extras and the great staff made the last days of our vacation terrific.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2010

Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We appreciate your time and effort in write us a review. We hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

From my first phone call when I spoke to Marvin to my last good bye...I felt like I was home. It was wonderful!! My husband loved everything about the Inn as well. We would return in a minute and I hope we do.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatybock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2010

We are pleased we helped make your trip wonderful. Your review is most appreciated. We hope your return is soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Went with husband and friends in February. We all can not say enough how much we loved this place. All the exras were so fun, from the wine and cheese to the milk and cookies. Can not say enough about the staff. Above and beyond, they answer questions before you think to ask. The rooms were great and location was super. I do not see how anyone could find a problem with this hotel.
Suzanne /Illinois

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay at the French Qaurter Inn. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you found your stay so enjoyable. Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The French Quarter Inn was just wonderful! It was my fiance's birthday and he absolutely love it - from the champagne upon checkin to the beautiful breakfast in the morning, we couldn't have ask for better service. It is also close to the market and lots of restaurants. We dined at Amen Street and had great fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits. Magnolia's for dinner was very nice as well. You absolutely cannot go wrong with the French Quarter Inn and we have told everyone we've seen since we've returned. kTo top it off, the "price was right"! We will be back!!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank happyguest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Thank you for choosing the French Quater Inn for your finaces birthday celebration. We love
to be a part of special occasions. We turly appreciate your comments and your recommendation to your firends. We hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Very attractive public spaces and rooms, very pleasant and helpful service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngoat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Your review is greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel decor and found the hotel service pleasant. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $283 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing