We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love love love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Went with husband and friends in February. We all can not say enough how much we loved this place. All the exras were so fun, from the wine and cheese to the milk and cookies. Can not say enough about the staff. Above and beyond, they answer questions before you think to ask. The rooms were great and location was super. I do not see how anyone could find a problem with this hotel.
Suzanne /Illinois

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay at the French Qaurter Inn. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you found your stay so enjoyable. Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,419
    220
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
523
1,496
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

The French Quarter Inn was just wonderful! It was my fiance's birthday and he absolutely love it - from the champagne upon checkin to the beautiful breakfast in the morning, we couldn't have ask for better service. It is also close to the market and lots of restaurants. We dined at Amen Street and had great fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits. Magnolia's for dinner was very nice as well. You absolutely cannot go wrong with the French Quarter Inn and we have told everyone we've seen since we've returned. kTo top it off, the "price was right"! We will be back!!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank happyguest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for choosing the French Quater Inn for your finaces birthday celebration. We love
to be a part of special occasions. We turly appreciate your comments and your recommendation to your firends. We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, WY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Very attractive public spaces and rooms, very pleasant and helpful service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtngoat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Your review is greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel decor and found the hotel service pleasant. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

By far the best hospitality and amenities in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandykdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for your compliments about the French Quarter Inn team. We work diligently to ensure each guest thoroughly enjoys every minute of their stay. Reviews like yours lets us know we are on the right track. Again, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

The French Quarter Inn is a wonderful place to stay in the heart of the market area in Charleston. The decor is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is friendly and attentive. They will work to make every detail of your stay perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snipemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Our location is a great feature of the hotel. Over looking the market is the perfect location
for our guests. The great restaurants, historical sites, and shopping are all within a few minutes walk. Thank you for your compliments of the hotel and the staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

From the moment we checked in until we left 5 days later, everything was perfect. We were greeted with champagne and cookies and upgraded to a room with a balcony. The room was spacious with comfy beds and chairs. The bathroom was large with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The towels were large and fluffy. I especially enjoyed the wine and cheese each evening a 5pm. No limit on the wine, chese, crackers or fruit. The cookies and milkj at 8:30pm was a nice touch as was our town-down box of Kilwin chocolates. Early morning breakfast of sweet rolls, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt, coffee, tea and three juices sent us off on our exploration of the city. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. I felt pampered.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doglover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
Pampered is our desired effect. We are delighted that we were able to succeed and create the perfect stay for you. Your compliments of the hotel, amenities, and staff are greatly appreciated. We look forward to the next time we get to pamper you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Nice clean room, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, large bathroom with upscale personal products, complimentary continental breakfast, close to everything, nice staff - what's not to like?

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pali21113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing